Facebook ICON   Twitter ICON   LinkedIn ICON   Instagram ICON   You Tube ICON

Alumni Awards

2017 WinnersEach year the UAB National Alumni Society presents special awards to deserving individuals at its annual Alumni Awards and Recognition Luncheon. This year's Alumni Awards and Recognition Luncheon will be Friday, September 28, 2018 at the UAB National Alumni Society House.

To RSVP for the 2018 Alumni Awards and Recognition Luncheon by contacting Liz McCullough at lc90@uab.edu or 205-934-3555.

The UAB National Alumni Society is excited to announce the recipients of the 2018 Alumni Awards:

Honorary Life Membership Award  - Ed Aldag
Honorary Alumni Award - Tommy Brigham
Distinguished Alumni Award - Charles D. Stokes
Outstanding Young Alumni Award - Dr. Anand Iyer

The following are the descriptions of the awards the UAB National Alumni Society has available each year for nominations. 

Click on the award title below to see past recipients:

Honorary Life Membership Award

The Honorary Life Membership Award is the Society’s highest award bestowed on an individual whose contributions to UAB benefit the entire university community.

Past recipients are:

1979   Senator John Sparkman    1999   William Ireland, Sr.
1980   Julia and Thomas D. Russell   2001   Margaret Porter
1981   Joseph F. Volker, D.D.S.   2002   Virginia and William Spencer
1982   S. Richardson Hill, Jr., M.D.   2003   Julian Banton
1983   Susan and William Hansell Hulsey   2004   Michael Goodrich
1984   Thomas K. Hearn, Jr., Ph.D.   2004   Shirley Salloway Kahn, Ph.D.
1985   Bertha Pizitz Smolian   2005   John M. Lyons, Ph.D.
1986   Dorah Heyman Sterne   2006   Carol Z. Garrison, Ph.D.
1987   Richard Arrington, Jr., Ph.D.   2007   Marsha and Don Hire
1988   James C. Lee, Jr.   2008   Brad Rollow
1989   Peter G. Smith   2009   Jane Stephens Comer
1990   Henry C. Goodrich   2010   Earl E. Foust
1991   Ehney A. Camp, Jr.   2011   Walter T. Maddox
1992   Thomas E. Rast   2012   The Honorable William A. Bell, Sr.
1993   Alys R. Stephens   2013   Ken Jackson
1994   Charles A. Collat   2014   E. Douglas Rigney, Jr., Ph.D.
1995   Charles A. McCallum, M.D., D.M.D.   2015   Jerry W. Stephens, Ph.D.
1996   Harold L. Abroms   2015   Lois S. and Barry Luther
1997   B. Gene Bartow   2016   Carol Odess
1998   Paul Hardin, J.D.   2017   Chad Thomas Hagwood

Honorary Alumni Award

The Honorary Alumni Award is traditionally presented to a member of the UAB family who has made exceptional contributions to UAB and its programs.

Past recipients are:

1982   Rex Rainer, Ph.D.   2002   Malcolm Portera, Ph.D.
1983   John Coley, Ph.D.    2003   Tennant McWilliams, Ph.D.
1983   B. Gene Bartow   2004   John Amos, O.D.
1983   Jimmy Faulkner   2005   William Bridgers, M.D.
1985   George Passey, Ph.D.   2006   W. Jack Duncan, Ph.D.
1985    Canfield Smith, Ph.D.   2007   Ward Haarbauer, Ph.D.
1989   Keith Bryant, Jr., Ph.D.   2008   Kenneth E. Burke, Ph.D.
1990   Mary Flowers Braswell, Ph.D.   2009   Frank Messina, Ph.D.
1991   W. Sanders Murell   2010   Andrew J. Marsch, III
1992   James A. Pittman, Jr., M.D.   2011   Sanjay Singh, Ph.D.
1994   Loudell E. Robinson, Ph.D.   2012   Sarah Parcak, Ph.D.
1995   Jay Goldman, D.Sc.   2013   Wendy Gunther-Canada, Ph.D.
1996   Gene Newport, Ph.D.   2014   Anupam Agarwal, M.D..
1997   Virginia D. Gauld, Ph.D.   2015   Eric P. Jack, Ph.D.
1999   Aaron L. Lamar, Jr., Ph.D.   2016   Harold Jones, Ph.D.
2001   Ada Long, Ph.D.   2017   Catherine Danielou, Ph.D.

Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award is presented to a UAB graduate whose professional and community accomplishments are outstanding. The recipient must be one who is distinguished in his/her profession or other worthy endeavors, has demonstrated a continual interest in UAB, and who is a member in good standing of the UAB National Alumni Society. The recipient’s school or college awards a $4,000 student scholarship the following fiscal year. 

1991   Lawrence J. DeLucas, Ph.D.   2004   Marie L. O'Koren, Ed.D.
1992   Richard M. Scrushy   2005   Mary Lynne Capilouto, D.M.D., SM
1993   Helen G. Robertson   2006   Albert J. Tully, Jr., M.D.
1994   William L. Roper, M.D., M.P.H.   2007   Ray L. Watts, M.D.
1995   James H. Woodward, Ph.D.   2008   Julie H. Hanna
1996   Ken Jackson   2009   Linda Chambers Lucas, Ph.D.
1997   Charles A. McCallum, M.D., D.M.D.   2010   Marquita R. Davis, Ph.D.
1998   Martha Warren Bidez, Ph.D.   2011   Anne Harper Arrasmith
1999   Jean A. Kelley, Ed.D.   2012   Phyllis Norton DePiano
2000   Robert C. Chapman, FACHE   2013   Kathryn B. Freeland
2001   Tommie G. Cummings   2014   Maj Gen N. Lee S. Price (Retired)
2002   Michael E. Stephens   2015   Gillian W. Goodrich
2003   Gail H. Cassell, Ph.D.   2016   Will Ferniany, Ph.D.
    2017   Edward E. Partridge, M.D.

Outstanding Young Alumni Award

The Outstanding Young Alumni Award is presented to a UAB alumnus/na who is 40 years of age or younger. The recipient has shown outstanding achievement in his/her career/profession, demonstrated notable service to the community, shown commitment to UAB, and is a member in good standing of the UAB National Alumni Society.

1999   W. Michael Coppage, MPA   2009   Nancy Fouad Carey
2002   Vonetta Flowers   2010   Zack L. Cloud
2004   Stephen E. Brosette, Ph.D.   2011   Traci Spray d'Auguste
2004   Preston Scarber, Jr., Ph.D.   2012   Joshua Carpenter
2005   Nakela Cook, M.D.   2013   Brian Cauble
2006   Wyndall A. Ivey   2014   Donald S. Burke, Ph.D.
2007   Sam Miller   2015   Michael A. Grier, P.E.
2008   David M. Scott   2016   Trey Cummings
    2017   Michelle Cardel, Ph.D.

If you have any questions, please contact Liz McCullough at lc90@uab.edu or 205-934-3555.