qs-facebook   qs-twitter   qs-linkedin   qs-flickr   qs-youtube

School Spotlight

CAS tagline

dragon_circle_flame_small1.gifUAB College of Arts and Sciences Launches Prestigious UTeach Program

UAB was one of only five research universities chosen by the National Math and Science Initiative (NMSI) as expansion sites for their UTeach secondary science, technology, engineering, and match teacher preparation programs.

Beginning in the Fall 2014 Semester, the UABTeach program, as it will be known, will be made available to students at UAB with the goal of training more qualified match and science teachers to keep the nation globally competitive.

READ MORE about UABTeach.

MontageSeeds of Success

The College of Arts and Sciences spotlights five alumni entrepreneurs rooted in their UAB education.

Larry DeLucas, O.D., Ph.D., Theresa Harper Bruno, M.A., David Graves, Ph.D., David Brasfield, B.S., and Stephen Brossette, M.D., Ph.D. each have deep roots at UAB and a history of starting successful ventures.

LEARN MORE about each as The College of Arts and Sciences looks at their history of success.

MediaFellows21A New Kind of Storyteller

Most creative leaders in this world got to where they are today because they are problem-solvers: they find a need and fill it.  In fact, it was this determined mindset that led Rosie O'Beirne and Anna Lloyd to establish the program of their dreams: the UAB Digital Media Fellows.

"We decided early on that media fellows needed to be the cream of the crop in digital storytelling on campus," says Lloyd.  "And we believe that if you're that good at what you do, you deserve to be paid."

Media Fellows work 20 hours a week at $12 an hour.  This wage was set to show students that they have just as much to offer as professionals do.  And every dollar made by student projects with external clients goes right back into the program.

FIND OUT MORE about the UAB Digital Media Fellows.