Aquatic Certifications

Aquatics Home               Class Descriptions               Class Registration                Certifications

 

Click Here for Summer Class Dates and Times

Lifeguard
Training

UAB students and Members  - $180 
Others - $210
Register: Online or in person at the Welcome Desk with Membership Services today!

Be a lifesaver. The purpose of the course is to provide entry-level lifeguard participants with the knowledge and skills to prevent, recognize and respond to aquatics emergencies and to provide care for breathing and cardiac emergencies, injuries and sudden illnesses until emergency medical services (EMS) personnel take over. You will gain two year certifications in:  Lifeguarding, First Aid and CPR/AED for adults, children and infants. 

Summer Class Dates and Times

(Thur) August 13 from 4pm-8pm
(Fri) August 14 from 4pm-8pm 
(Sat) August 15 from 9am-5pm
(Sun) August 16 from 9am-5pm
(Mon) August 17 from 9am-2pm

Fall Class Dates and Times

(Thur) November 19 from 4pm-8pm
(Fri) November 20 from 4pm-8pm 
(Sat) November 21 from 9am-5pm
(Sun) November 22 from 9am-5pm




Lifeguard Training Review and Recertification
UAB Students and Rec Center Members - $65
Non Members - $75
Register: Online or in person at the Welcome Desk with Membership Services today!

  • A 12 hour course that will review and recertify a Lifeguard in American Red Cross Lifeguard Training.
  • Participant must have a current Lifeguard Certification that is not expired before the start of the class.
  • Participants must supply their own breathing barrier (facemask) for the CPR skills review and testing. These can be purchased at the Pro Shop for $13.00 if needed.
  • Class will include dry land and in water training
  • There will be an online portion that will need to be completed prior to the start of the class.
  • Certification will be valid 2 years from the day of the class.

Summer Class Dates and Times
Saturday, June 6 & Sunday, June 7 from 9am-4pm


 

Standard First Aid/CPR/AED/Adult & Child
Register: Online or in person at the Welcome Desk with Membership Services today!

Teaches individuals how to recognize and care for breathing and cardiac emergencies in adults and children, handle emergency situations until advanced medical help arrives. Explains the role of the AED in the cardiac chain of survival and how to provide basic first aid care for injuries or sudden illnesses. Basic disease transmission precautions and caring for; bleeding, wounds and immobilizing muscle, bone and joint injuries is also taught.  (2 year certification is awarded upon completion.)

Summer Class Dates and Times
(Wed) May 27 from 9am-3pm
(Sat) June 13 from 9am-3pm
(Sat) July 11 from 9am-3pm
(Sat) August 1 from 9am-3pm
(Sat) August 8 from 9am-3pm
(Sat) August 22 from 9am-3pm

Fall Class Dates and
 Times

(Sat) September 12 from 9am-3pm
(Sat) October 10 from 9am-3pm
(Sat) November 14 from 9am-3pm
(Sat) December 5 from 9am-3pm


         
CPR/AED for the Professional Rescuer/Healthcare Provider
Register: Online or in person at the Welcome Desk with Membership Services today!

Professional level class gives instruction in how to recognizing and caring for breathing and cardiac emergencies, two-rescuer CPR, use of resuscitation mask and bag-valve mask. Provides knowledge and skills necessary to care for victims of sudden cardiac arrest through the use of an AED.  (2 year certification)
       
Summer Class Dates and Times
(Sat) June 20 from 9am-3pm
(Sat) August 15 from 9am-3pm

Fall Class Dates and Times

(Sat) September 12 from 10am-3pm
(Sat) November 21 from 11am-3pm
   
For more information contact aquatics@uab.edu