Aquatics Home               Class Descriptions               Class Registration                Certifications

 

Click Here for Spring Class Dates and Times

Lifeguard
Training

UAB students and Members  - $180 
Non-Members - $210
Register: Online or in person at the Welcome Desk with Membership Services today!

Be a lifesaver. The purpose of the course is to provide entry-level lifeguard participants with the knowledge and skills to prevent, recognize and respond to aquatics emergencies and to provide care for breathing and cardiac emergencies, injuries and sudden illnesses until emergency medical services (EMS) personnel take over. You will gain two year certifications in:  Lifeguarding, First Aid and CPR/AED for adults, children and infants. 

Spring Class Dates and Times

(Fri) April 1 from 4pm-8pm
(Sat) April 2 from 9am-3pm 
(Thurs) April 7 from 4pm-8pm
(Fri) April 8 from 4pm-8pm

Summer Class Dates and Times
(Thurs) May 12 from 4pm-8pm
(Fri) May 13 from 4pm-8pm 
(Sat) May 14 from 9am-3pm
(Mon) May 16 from 4pm-8pm



Lifeguard Training Review and Recertification
UAB Students and Rec Center Members - $65
Non Members - $75
Register: Online or in person at the Welcome Desk with Membership Services today!

  • A 12 hour course that will review and recertify a Lifeguard in American Red Cross Lifeguard Training.
  • Participant must have a current Lifeguard Certification that is not expired before the start of the class.
  • Participants must supply their own breathing barrier (facemask) for the CPR skills review and testing. These can be purchased at the Pro Shop for $13.00 if needed.
  • Class will include dry land and in water training
  • There will be an online portion that will need to be completed prior to the start of the class.
  • Certification will be valid 2 years from the day of the class.

Spring Class Dates and Times
No Classes Scheduled


 

Standard First Aid/CPR/AED/Adult & Child
Register: Online or in person at the Welcome Desk with Membership Services today!

Teaches individuals how to recognize and care for breathing and cardiac emergencies in adults and children, handle emergency situations until advanced medical help arrives. Explains the role of the AED in the cardiac chain of survival and how to provide basic first aid care for injuries or sudden illnesses. Basic disease transmission precautions and caring for; bleeding, wounds and immobilizing muscle, bone and joint injuries is also taught.  (2 year certification is awarded upon completion.)

Spring Class Dates and
 Times

(Sat) January 9 from 9am-3pm
(Sat) January 23 from 12pm-2pm
(Sat) February 13 from 10am-12pm
(Sat) March 19 from 12pm-2pm
(Sat) April 9 from 10am-12pm

Summer Class Dates and Times
(Sat) May 7 from 10am-12pm
(Sat) May 26 from 10am-12pm
(Sat) June 11 from 10am-12pm
(Sat) July 9 from 10am-12pm
(Sat) August 6 from 10am-12pm
(Sat) August 13 from 10am-12pm


         
CPR/AED for the Professional Rescuer/Healthcare Provider
Register: Online or in person at the Welcome Desk with Membership Services today!

Professional level class gives instruction in how to recognize and care for breathing and cardiac emergencies, two-rescuer CPR, use of resuscitation mask and bag-valve mask. Provides knowledge and skills necessary to care for victims of sudden cardiac arrest through the use of an AED.  (2 year certification)
       
Spring Class Dates and Times

(Sat) January 23 from 10am-12pm
(Sat) March 19 from 10am-2pm

Summer Class Dates and Times
(Sat) May 21 from 10am-2pm
(Sat) August 20 from 10am-12pm
   
For more information contact aquatics@uab.edu