The department of Communication Studies is among the top 25 research departments in the United States. Many of the faculty members have nationwide reputations, four are ranked among the top prolific scholars in the National Communication Association. The teaching is excellent. Faculty have won awards on campus and in regional communication associations. The faculty holds degrees from Indiana University, Michigan State University, Southern Illinois University, Florida State University, Ohio State University, University of Alabama, University of Florida, Emory University, and the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro.


Dr. Timothy Levine , Distinguished Professor


Dr. Jonathan H. Amsbary, Graduate Director

Dr. Mark Hickson

Dr. Eduardo Neiva

Dr. Larry Powell

Dr. Virginia Peck Richmond

Dr. John Wittig, Retired

Associate Professors

Dr. Minabere Ibelema, Undergraduate Journalism Director

Assistant Professors

Dr. Cecil Betros

Dr. Jacquelyn S. Shaia -- Visiting

Dr. Neil Uncapher -- Visiting

Credential Course Instructors

Ms. Jane Bailey 

Mr. Matt Cuthbert

Ms. Margaret (Peggy) Jones
Mr. Alan Franks Alan Franks

Mr. Justin Massey

Mr. Jacob Nance

Mr. Nick Patterson

Dr. Rebecca Reamey

Ms. Holly Trawick

Graduate Assistants

Ms. Kelsey Clark

Ms. Ashley Johnson

Ms. Leslie Jones

Ms. Amanda McDaniel