Administration

To Contact the Department of English

Campus Location: 215 Humanities Building
900 13th Street South
Birmingham, AL
(see map)
Mailing address: The Department of English
HB 215
1720 2nd Avenue South
Birmingham, AL 35294-1260
Phone: (205) 934-4250
Fax: (205) 975-8125
Website: http://www.uab.edu/cas/english/
Faculty Offices: Most faculty offices are located on the second floor of the Humanities Building, but some faculty are located on the fourth floor. Check the Faculty Directory for specific office locations and other contact information for individual faculty.

Administration

bellisDr. Peter J. Bellis, Chair

Office: Humanities Building 215-D
Phone: (205) 934-4250
Email: pbellis@uab.edu

 

Program Directors & Coordinators

Office Staff

  • Pamela Parker, Administrative Associate, (205) 934-5293
  • Elfrieda Clark, Office Services Specialist II, (205) 934-4250

I have a question about . . .

If our web site does not yet address your question, use this list to inquire:

If your question is about...then contact...
Developmental (EH091) or
Freshman Composition (EH101/102)
Dr. Christopher Minnix
(205) 934-2725
cminnix@uab.edu
ESL testing UAB Testing Office
(205) 934-5503
placetest@uab.edu
200-400 level literature classes Dr. Alison Chapman
(205) 934-8570
achapman@uab.edu
500–600 level literature classes Dr. Gale Temple
(205) 934-8593
gtemple@uab.edu
tutoring in the University Writing Center
(175C, Sterne Library)
Dr. Jaci Wells
(205) 996-7179
wellsj@uab.edu
majoring or minoring in English Dr. Alison Chapman
(205) 934-8570
achapman@uab.edu
graduate study in English Dr. Gale Temple
(205) 934-8593
gtemple@uab.edu
creative writing courses Mr. James Braziel
(205) 934-8573
brazielj@uab.edu
linguistics courses Dr. David Basilico
(205) 934-8588
basilico@uab.edu
professional writing courses Dr. Bruce McComiskey
(205) 934-8572
mccomisk@uab.edu
honors courses in English Dr. Daniel Siegel
(205) 934-8574
siegel@uab.edu
internships in English Dr. Cynthia Ryan
(205) 934-8600
cynryan@uab.edu

Map

This map shows the location of the Humanities Building, home to the Department of English. For more information about getting to UAB, see this list of resources.

View Larger Map