News 2012

    • Fast-track student Mallick Hossain is a finalist for a Rhodes Scholarship. Let's all wish him the best for the upcoming interviews. Additional details are here.
    • Prof. Rudi Weikard has been named a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society, click here for more details.
    • PhD student Matthew Bledsoe recently published the paper Stability of the inverse resonance problem on the line in the Journal Inverse Problems. Matt is the sole author of the paper and the editor informed him that the paper had been "highly rated by the referees".
    • Under the guidance of Prof. Karpeshina the Department won a grant "Doctoral Fellowships in Applied Mathematics" from the US Department of Education under the GAANN program.
    • Dr. Carmeliza Navasca and Dr. Shannon Starr joined the Faculty as Assistant Professors on August 1.

      Dr. Navasca is an expert in numerical multilinear algebra, computational control, computational PDEs and optimization. She received her degree in 2002 from the University of California, Davis under the direction of Arthur Krener. She held positions at the University of Waterloo; UCLA; the CNRS Cergy-Pontoise, France; the Rochester Institute of Technology; and Clarkson University before coming to UAB.

      Dr. Starr works in probability and mathematical physics. He received his Ph.D. in 2001 from the University of California, Davis under the direction of  Bruno Nachtergaele. Dr. Starr comes to UAB from the University of Rochester after having spent time at Princeton University, McGill University, and UCLA.
    • Prof. Chernov won a supplement to his NSF grant to support Ph.D. student Alexei Korepanov.
    • Prof. Zeng won a Collaboration Grant for Mathematicians from the Simons Foundation.
    • Profs. Blokh and Karpeshina won individual research grants from NSF. You may click their names for award abstracts.
    • Former graduate student Hong-Kun Zhang (Ph.D. 2005), a faculty member at the University of Massachusetts, won an NSF-CAREER award.
    • Graduate student Joseph Olson won the 2012-2013 Kauffman award for excellence in first year graduate studies.
    • Alexandra Fry is the recipient of the 2012-2013 Warner Scholarship.
    • John R. Samples was awarded the 2012-2013 Travis Wood Memorial Scholarship.
    • Gaurav Verma received the 2012-2013 O'Neil Scholarship.
    • Rachel Ejem received a Mathematics Department Scholarship for 2012-2013.
    • Fast-track student Atbin Doroodchi received the College of Arts and Sciences Dean’s Award as Outstanding Undergraduate Student for the Sciences.
    • The paper Hypersurfaces of Prescribed Curvature Measure by Pengfei Guan (McGill University), Junfang Li, and Yanyan Li  (Rutgers University) was accepted for publication by the Duke Mathematical Journal, widely considered as one of the top mathematical journals.
    • Alexey Korepanov, Jessica Bass, and Joseph Olson were chosen as the Outstanding PhD Student, the Outstanding Master's Student, and the Outstanding Undergraduate Student, respectively. Congratulations to all.
    • Former Fast-track student Arielle Sullivan will receive her Doctor of Medicine degree this Spring from the University of South Alabama.
    • Fast-track student Atbin Doroodchi won a second place at the 11th Annual University of Alabama System Honors Research Conference.
    • The National Society for Leadership and Success has recognized Prof. Ian Knowles for Excellence in Teaching. You may find the announcement here.
    • Hardy's inequality and curvature by A. Balinsky, W.D. Evans and Roger T. Lewis was the second most downloaded (hottest) article in the Journal of Functional Analysis in 2011 (click here for the full list).
    • Prof. Gunter Stolz won a 2012 Graduate Dean's Excellence in Mentorship Award. 
    • Ph.D. student Matthew Bledsoe won a second place at the 2012 Graduate Student Research Days.