Nole Jones has sung his way to the top. The baritone, one of only 14 men in the country to make the semi-final round, competed at the National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS) National Student Auditions.
Films by UAB students, faculty, and alumni shown at the 17th Annual Sidewalk Film Festival in Birmingham include “The Pursuit of Hippo-ness,” “Feral,” “Coming and Going,” “4th Down,” “10-4 Birmingham,” and “Seizing the Unrecorded.”
Rebecca Hyde, a junior international studies major, and Elora Robbani, a senior philosophy major, were recently awarded the William Jefferson Clinton Scholarship.
Biology graduate student Mary Latimer is a recipient of a 2015-2016 STEM Chateaubriand Fellowship.
Music major Aleksandra Kasman won the inaugural High Point Univerisity Piano Competition in June.
The Alabama Space Grant Consortium, a center of the National Aeronautics and Space Agency (NASA) housed at the University of Alabama in Huntsville, has chosen computer and information sciences major Ryan McConn as one of their 2015 Space Grant Scholars.
Dr. Purushotham Bangalore, Associate Professor in the Department of Computer and Information Sciences and Director of the Collaborative Computing Laboratory (CLL), has been awarded nearly $500,000 from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for his project on a high-speed campus research network.
Dr. Wendy Gunther-Canada, Chair of the Department of Government, is one of several UAB faculty members and administrators who have established the new Alabama Network for Women in Higher Education.
Dr. Malinda Blair O’Leary, Assistant Professor of Spanish in the Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures, has become the first arts and sciences professor to have a course certified by Quality Matters, an international program that provides standards for online learning.
Robert Sorge, Ph.D., Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychology, was named one of seven Rita Allen Foundation Scholars for 2015.
CAS Advisor Tyna Adams, who supports biology students, was named Outstanding New Advisor Award from the National Academic Advising Association (NACADA) at their summer conference.
UAB has been named one of only six Nathan Shock Centers of Excellence by the National Institutes of Health’s National Institute on Aging.
Department of Theatre Chair Kelly Dean AllisonDepartment of Music Chair Patrick Evans, and Department of Art and Art History Chair Lauren Lake have been chosen as fellows for the International Council of Fine Arts Deans (ICFAD).
The 2015-2016 Haddin Lecture Series will feature a number of arts and sciences faculty members. All lectures will be given in Heritage Hall Room 121.
In March, the College of Arts and Sciences celebrated our nine graduates who were honored at the UAB National Alumni Society’s Excellence in Business Top 25 event.
Media Studies Program Director Michele Forman on how her students inspire her with their films, work that has been recognized and awarded in many ways.
From art exhibitions by Bachelor of Fine Arts students to Department of Theatre performances, from Homecoming to recognition of alumni and student awards, fall was a busy time in the College.
April 13, 2015

Gaining on Pain

Three faculty members in the Department of Psychology — Dr. Burel Goodin, Dr. Robert Sorge and Dr. Jarred Younger — are getting ahead in the race to end chronic pain.
April 13, 2015

Native Son

UAB helped make Hugh Gainer the man he is today, and now he is repaying the investment. We spent a few hours with Hugh and his wife Anna at their home in Birmingham to learn more about his experiences at UAB.
April 13, 2015

Good Advice

Find out how the 19 advisors in the College help ensure our students reach their goals.
Page 7 of 10
Back to Top