Dr. Malinda Blair O’Leary, Assistant Professor of Spanish in the Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures, has become the first arts and sciences professor to have a course certified by Quality Matters, an international program that provides standards for online learning.
Robert Sorge, Ph.D., Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychology, was named one of seven Rita Allen Foundation Scholars for 2015.
CAS Advisor Tyna Adams, who supports biology students, was named Outstanding New Advisor Award from the National Academic Advising Association (NACADA) at their summer conference.
UAB has been named one of only six Nathan Shock Centers of Excellence by the National Institutes of Health’s National Institute on Aging.
Department of Theatre Chair Kelly Dean AllisonDepartment of Music Chair Patrick Evans, and Department of Art and Art History Chair Lauren Lake have been chosen as fellows for the International Council of Fine Arts Deans (ICFAD).
The 2015-2016 Haddin Lecture Series will feature a number of arts and sciences faculty members. All lectures will be given in Heritage Hall Room 121.
In March, the College of Arts and Sciences celebrated our nine graduates who were honored at the UAB National Alumni Society’s Excellence in Business Top 25 event.
Media Studies Program Director Michele Forman on how her students inspire her with their films, work that has been recognized and awarded in many ways.
From art exhibitions by Bachelor of Fine Arts students to Department of Theatre performances, from Homecoming to recognition of alumni and student awards, fall was a busy time in the College.
April 13, 2015

Gaining on Pain

Three faculty members in the Department of Psychology — Dr. Burel Goodin, Dr. Robert Sorge and Dr. Jarred Younger — are getting ahead in the race to end chronic pain.
April 13, 2015

Native Son

UAB helped make Hugh Gainer the man he is today, and now he is repaying the investment. We spent a few hours with Hugh and his wife Anna at their home in Birmingham to learn more about his experiences at UAB.
April 13, 2015

Good Advice

Find out how the 19 advisors in the College help ensure our students reach their goals.
April 13, 2015

Class Notes

News from UAB College of Arts and Sciences alumni. Update your alumni information.
April 13, 2015

2014 Alumni Awards

Our alumni are more than former students. They are ambassadors of the institution, representatives of the quality of the education available to students at UAB, and advocates for the College and university in a broad and complex world.
Howard Zehr, Ph.D., a renowned figure in human rights scholarship, has been named the winner of the 2015 Ireland Distinguished Visiting Scholar Award.
Dr. Trygve Tollefsbol is a leader in the growing field of epigenetics. His work in this emerging and important field stands out among the work of an array of international scholars.
April 13, 2015

Mapping the Sun

In partnership with the Alabama Environmental Council, Dr. Akklaque Haque, Associate Professor in the Department of Government, is engaging his students in groundbreaking work by geo-mapping solar usage in Alabama.
April 13, 2015

Safety First

Psychology Faculty members Dr. Despina Stavrinos, Assistant Professor, and Dr. David Schwebel, Professor and Associate Dean for Research in the Sciences, put safety first as they teach behaviors and practices to ensure the public’s well being.
Dr. Timothy Levine comes to us from Korea University, where he was Professor of Communication and Media. His research and instructional focus has been on interpersonal communication, social influence, cross-cultural communication, and social scientific research methods.
April 13, 2015

One for the Books

The College celebrates the 19 faculty members who published a book in 2014.
Page 8 of 11