Department of Physics

LukeMcClintockThe Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship in Excellence in Education Foundation has recently announced the recipients of its 2014 Goldwater Scholars, which included two UAB undergraduates. The Department of Physics was pleased to find out that Luke McClintock, a sophomore dual-major in physics and chemistry earned an honorable mention for this prestigious and highly competitive recognition. Luke is presently involved in research utilizing a unique Terahertz magneto-optical spectroscopy system using the new Split-Florida Helix 25-Tesla magnet at the NHMF under the mentorship of UAB Physics Professor David Hilton.

From a pool of more than 1,100 student applicants, just 283 students were selected to receive this award nationwide. The scholars were selected based on their academic achievements outlined in the nominations submitted by faculty members. To date, UAB has had 19 Goldwater Scholars.

The Goldwater scholarship program began in 1989 with the purpose of encouraging outstanding students to pursue careers in engineering, mathematics and the natural sciences. The foundation grants each recipient a scholarship for the 2014-2015 academic year that covers the cost of tuition, fees, books, and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year.