Department of Physics
Interested in what research projects and programs being carried out by the physics faculty? Below you will find the topics and associated department faculty members active in the UAB Department of Physics. More information on these and other research programs can be found at the faculty member's website, if one is listed.

Computational and Theoretical Physics

Ryoichi Kawai, Assoc. Professor
website
(205) 934-3931
kawai@uab.edu

David Shealy, Emeritus Professor
(205) 934-8068
dls@uab.edu

Computational X-ray Science and Condensed Matter Physics
Cheng-Chien Chen, Assistant Professor
(205) 934-8659
chencc@uab.edu

Theory & computation of laser-induced femtosecond dynamics in correlated quantum materials
Ilias Perakis, Professor and Chair
(205) 996-9870
iperakis@uab.edu

Experimental Condensed Matter and Materials Physics

Nanostructured materials for Energy and Optoelectronic Technologies
Krishen Appavoo, Assistant Professor
website
(205) 934-0340
appavoo@uab.edu

Emerging Materials for Energy Applications
Renato P. Camata, Associate Professor
website
(205) 934-8143
camata@uab.edu

Nanostructured Biomaterials
S. Aaron Catledge, Associate Professor
website
(205) 934-3693
catledge@uab.edu

Correlated Electron Systems
David J. Hilton, Associate Professor
website
(205) 934-8189
dhilton@uab.edu

Zero-and One-Dimensional Nanocomposites and Functional Structures
Andrei V. Stanishevsky, Associate Professor
website
(205) 934-8030
astan@uab.edu

High Pressure Physics and Nanomaterials Research
Yogesh K. Vohra, Professor & University Scholar
website
(205) 934-6662
ykvohra@uab.edu

Functional Defects in Advanced Materials
Mary Ellen Zvanut, Professor
website
(205) 934-6661
mezvanut@uab.edu

Experimental Optics and Laser Physics

Ultrafast Microscopy
Krishen Appavoo, Assistant Professor
website
(205) 934-0340
appavoo@uab.edu

Utrafast Optics
David J. Hilton, Associate Professor
website
(205) 934-8189
dhilton@uab.edu

Non-linear Optics and Optical Sensing
Chris M. Lawson, Professor
website
(205) 975-5059
lawson@uab.edu

Novel Lasers and Applications
Sergey B. Mirov, University Professor
website
(205) 934-8088
mirov@uab.edu

Spectroscopy and Laser Cooling
Clayton Simien, Assistant Professor
(205) 934-8031
cesimien@uab.edu

UAB Research Centers with Physics Faculty Affiliation