The Ruby Lloyd Apsey Play Search

Every other year, Theatre UAB conducts a search for new and original full-length plays confronting racial or ethnic issues, especially those calling for ethnically diverse and/or multi-racial casting.
The Apsey Award consists of a $1000 prize plus a staged reading and audience talk-back at Theatre UAB. 

Recent winners:

  • 2005:  The Poetry of Pizza by Deborah Brevoort
  • 2007:  Valu-Mart by Sean O'Leary
  • 2009:  We Three by Paul Shoulberg
  • 2011:  A to Z  by Monica Raymond

The 2013 winner of the Apsey Play Search is
"GUTTING" by Jeremy J. Kamps

GUTTING is a poetic tragedy about people struggling to
rebuild their lives in the devastated remains
of New Orleans after the Katrina disaster.

Congratulations to Jeremy Kamps!


We are not accepting any new script submissions at this time.

Future submission periods will be announced in
the Dramatists Sourcebook and other public listings.

Direct all questions to:
The Ruby Lloyd Apsey Play Search
Theatre UAB ASC 255
1720 2nd Ave South
Birmingham, AL 35294-1263

OR to  
Lee Eric Shackleford, Apsey Play Search Chair