Center members include faculty affiliates from departments within and outside UAB. A majority of affiliates come from academic departments in the College of Arts and Sciences; other affiliates have faculty appointments in the Collat School of Business, the School of Health Professions, and the School of Engineering.


The Center’s Director of Research is Gary Warner. The Center’s Assistant Director is Purushotham Bangalore, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Computer and Information Sciences (CIS). Several committees have been established to offer guidance to and oversight of the Center. Additionally, because the Center is a Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and National Security Agency (NSA) designated Center for Academic Excellence in Research (CAE-R), it is bound by various requirements established by those agencies to maintain the CAE-R designation.

The Center’s Executive Committee consists of key faculty affiliates representing participating schools, the College of Arts and Sciences, and individual departments. The committee’s function is to identify areas deemed instrumental to the Center’s research, business development, education, and outreach mission, and provide feedback and long-term input on research initiatives, facilities, and outreach efforts. Members engage in strategic planning; disseminate information on Center activities; guide research and recruitment priorities and efforts; develop Center grant applications; and review resource allocations. Additional and replacement committee members may be nominated and selected over time to ensure full representation of participating units and in support of new initiatives. The Center’s Director and Assistant Director serve on this committee as voting members.

The Internal Advisory Committee of the Center includes Dr. Robert Palazzo, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences; Dr. Harold P. Jones, Dean, School of Health Professions; Dr. Eric Jack, Dean, Collat School of Business; Dr. J. Iwan Alexander, Dean, School of Engineering; and Dr. Richard Marchase, Vice President for Research and Economic Development (or his designee), who collectively offer input and advice in strategic planning and direction, periodically review Center programs, and offer meaningful input. The Center’s Director serves as an ex-officio member of this committee.

The External Advisory Committee consists of the Vice President for Research and the Center Director, as well as members of the Center’s constituencies. The Committee provides independent, non-binding external perspectives on Center operations and initiatives.