Leadership Council

The UAB Dentistry Leadership Council is comprised by dental school alumni who assist with fundraising initiatives and serve as an advisory board to Dr. Michael S. Ready, Dean. The Council’s forty plus members also promote “friend raising”. Members host receptions across the region and advocate the school in a variety of ways.

Council members serve three year terms. Current fundraising projects include endowed professorships, chairs, scholarships and programs, renovations, community outreach, and departmental initiatives. The Council is committed to the School’s mission of optimizing oral health care in Alabama and beyond.

The UAB Dentistry Leadership Council was formed in 2000 by former dean Dr. Mary Lynne Capilouto to assist with the School’s development activities. The Council played a prominent role in the Campaign for UAB (1999 – 2003), helping the School of Dentistry surpass its $5.3 million goal.

During the tenure of Dr. Huw Thomas (Dean from 2004-2011), the Leadership Council expanded to thirty plus dental alumni and added a chairperson. The School completed its $7.2 million Maintaining the Momentum Campaign (2004-2008) with the majority of private gifts designated for endowments, the specialty programs, and renovations.

Top Left: 2012-2013 Chairman Dr. Joel P. Hearn Top Right: 2011 Chairman Dr. William V. "Bill" Ingram, IV, Bottom: Dean Reddy presenting to Council (2012)