Alumni-and-Giving

Faculty




Name

Program Area

Faculty Status

Office

Phone

Email

Wajih Ahmad Health Education Assistant Professor 232-Q 205-975-6166 wahmad@uab.edu
Carol Allison Visual Impairment Instructor 210-B 205-975-5481 callison@uab.edu
Joe Burns Early Childhood/Elementary Education Associate Professor 100-B 205-934-8636 205-934-7530 jburns@uab.edu
Charles Calhoun Early Childhood/Elementary Education Associate Professor 116-B 205-934-8093 ccalhoun@uab.edu
Lois Christensen Early Childhood/Elementary Education Professor 109 205-934-8362 lmchrist@uab.edu
 Jeremiah Clabough Secondary Education Assistant Professor 112 205-996-7783 jclabou2@uab.edu
Rachel Cochran Center for Educational Accountability Research Assistant Professor 233 / 245-C 205-934-6414 danelle@uab.edu
Loucrecia Collins Educational Leadership Associate Professor 223 205-975-1984 lcollins@uab.edu
Stephanie Corcoran School Psychometry Assistant Professor 232-R 205-996-8804 corcoran@uab.edu
Karen Bowen Dahle Collaborative Teacher Associate Professor 102 205-975-6176 kbdahle@uab.edu
Ann Dominick Early Childhood/Elementary Education Assistant Professor 115 205-934-8365 adominic@uab.edu
Kay Emfinger Early Childhood/Elementary Education Associate 107-C 205-934-7003 emfinger@uab.edu
James Ernest Early Childhood/Elementary Education Associate Professor 117 205-934-8360 jernest@uab.edu
Retta Evans Health Education Associate Professor 259 205-996-2701 rrevans@uab.edu
Robin Fiedler Educational Psychology and Research Assistant Professor  232-L 205-996-5863 rfiedler@uab.edu
Gordon Fisher Physical Education, Exercise Physiology  Assistant Professor 232-J 205-996-4114 grdnfs@uab.edu
Laura Forbes Health Education Associate Professor 255 205-975-5368 ltalbott@uab.edu
Jason Fulmore Center for Educational Accountability Research Assistant Professor 245-C 205-934-6414 jfulmore@uab.edu
Richard Gargiulo Collaborative Teacher Professor 215 205-934-8478 gargiulo@uab.edu
Renitta Goldman Collaborative Teacher Professor 170 205-934-3449 rgoldman@uab.edu
Keith Gurley Educational Leadership Assistant Professor 232-G 205-975-1983 kgurley@uab.edu
Sean Hall Counselor Education Assistant Professor 152-E 205-975-9392 sbhall@uab.edu
Donna Hester Physical Education Associate Professor 224 205-934-8336 dhester@uab.edu
Gary Hunter Physical Education, Exercise Physiology  Professor 201 205-934-8338 ghunter@uab.edu
Grace Jepkemboi  Early Childhood/Elementary Education Assistant Professor 105 205-934-6650 memoi@uab.edu
Constance Kamii Early Childhood/Elementary Education Professor 116-A 205-934-9669 ckamii@uab.edu
Jennifer Kilgo Early Childhood Special Education University Professor 212 205-975-9613 jkilgo@uab.edu
Lynn Kirkland Early Childhood/Elementary Education Chair/Professor 119 205-934-8358 lkirk@uab.edu
Maxie Kohler Educational Psychology and Research Professor 204 205-934-2357 mkohler@uab.edu
Tondra L. Loder-Jackson Educational Foundations Associate Professor 219 205-934-8304 tloder@uab.edu
Tomeka McGhee Counselor Education Assistant Professor 152-D 205-934-8334 drtwmcgh@uab.edu
Andrew McKnight Educational Foundations Associate Professor 222 205-934-6232 anmcknig@uab.edu
Rose McNesse Educational Leadership Associate Professor     rosem49@uab.edu
Lee Meadows Secondary Education Associate Professor 119 205-934-8371 lmeadows@uab.edu
Kristi Menear Physical Education Chair/Associate Professor 207 205-975-7409 kmenear@uab.edu
Betty Nelson Collaborative Teacher Associate Professor 214  205-975-6760 benelson@uab.edu
Marcia O’Neal Center for Educational Accountability Research Associate Professor 233-A1 205-934-6549 moneal@uab.edu
Sherry Parrish Early Childhood/Elementary Education Assistant Professor 106 205-975-4810 parrishs@uab.edu
Fran Perkins Reading Education Associate Professor 114 205-934-8368 fdperk@uab.edu

Tonya Perry Secondary Education Assistant Professor 117 205-934-7896 tperry@uab.edu
Gary  B. Peters Educational Leadership Associate Professor 232-T 205-975-3460 gpeters@uab.edu
Cynthia Petri Health Education Associate Professor 206 205-934-8342 cpetri@uab.edu
Diane Pevsner Collaborative Teacher Assistant Professor 210-A 205-975-5351 dpevsner@uab.edu
Eric Plaisance Physical Education Assistant Professor     plaisep@uab.edu
Josie Prado English as a Second Language Assistant Professor 119 205-934-4792 jprado@uab.edu
Jane Roy Physical Education Associate Professor 205 205-934-1757 jroy@uab.edu
Mary Jean Sanspree Visual Impairment Professor EB 210 & Worrell Bldg. 110C 205-934-6723  sanspree@uab.edu
Katherine Scott Early Childhood/Elementary Education Instructor 113-A 205-934-8359 scottk@uab.edu
Susan Seay English as a Second Language Assistant Professor 111 205-975-6710 sueseay@uab.edu
Melanie Shores Educational Psychology and Research Associate Professor 232 -K 205-975-8487 mshores@uab.edu
Sandra K. Sims Physical Education Associate Professor 232-O 205-996-2721 sksims@uab.edu
 Michele Jean Sims Secondary Education Associate Professor 108 205-934-8361 or 205-612-1931 mjsims@uab.edu
Tommy Smith Secondary Education Associate Professor 122-A 205-934-8089 tsmith@uab.edu
Scott Snyder Educational Psychology and Research Associate Professor 233-C2 205-934-8475 ssnyder@uab.edu
Susan Spezzini English as a Second Language Associate Professor 120 205-934-8357 spezzini@uab.edu
Deborah Strevy Early Childhood/Elementary Education Assistant Professor 103 205-934-5419 dstrevy@uab.edu
 Jennifer Summerlin Early Childhood Education Instructor 110-B 205-996-3540 jsummerl@uab.edu
Larry Tyson Counselor Education  Associate Professor 152-F 205-975-2491 ltyson@uab.edu
Yu-Mei Wang  Educational Technology Associate Professor 123 205-975-6175 yuwang@uab.edu
Larrell Wilkinson Health Education Assistant Professor 232-N 205-975-1295 larrellw@uab.edu
Veronique Zimmerman-Brown   Instructor 221 205-996-9549 vzbrown@uab.edu

Staff


Name
Affiliation
Office
Phone
Email
Tyler  Bryant Dean's Office / Center for Urban Education 149-P 205-996-2178 trbryant@uab.edu
Gladys Casanova Regional In-Service Center 232-RI 205-934-6264 casanova@uab.edu
Stephani Collins Center for Urban Education 251 205-996-6432 sstruggs@uab.edu
Lydia Cowser Department of Curriculum and Instruction 119 205-934-8364  
Jerrie Foster Center for Urban Education 253 205-996-9843 jafoster@uab.edu
Lori E. Green Development and External Relations 228 205-975-3754 lorig@uab.edu
Brandi Griffice Office of Student Services 100 205-975-6221 bjg2433@uab.edu
Dianne Hedgepeth Office of Clinical Experiences 213-B 205-975-5777 dhedge@uab.edu
Tom Ingram Center for Educational Accountability 232-F 205-934-1129 tingram@uab.edu
William Johnson Dean’s Office  246-B 205-975-4294 whj@uab.edu
Sha’Niethia Johnson Office of Student Services 100-F 205-934-7530 araccot@uab.edu
Awilda Jones Office of Student Services 100-C 205-934-7530 dalila@uab.edu
Kelli Lloyd Office of Student Services 100-I 205-996-6145 kmlloyd@uab.edu
Kathryn Lowe-Tubbs Dean's Office 217 205-934-5322 / 205-996-9882 klowe@uab.edu
DeDe Merk Regional In- Service Center 229 205-934-2316 dmerk@uab.edu
Mary Norwood Office of Student Services 100-E 205-975-6221 mnorwood@uab.edu
Marcia O’Neal Department of Human Studies / Center for Educational Accountability 233-A1 205-934-6549 moneal@uab.edu
Michelle Peterson Office of Student Services 100 205-934-7530 mcarter@uab.edu
Trela Pettway Dean’s Office 216 205-996-6332 pettwayt@uab.edu
Vanessa Pickens Center for Educational Accountability 233 205-975-5388 vpickens@uab.edu
Boyd Rogan Regional In-Service Center 229 205-934-2316 brogan@uab.edu
Nancy Timpa Department of Curriculum and Instruciton 119 205-975-5860 ntimpa@uab.edu
Juanita Turner Department of Human Studies 207 205-934-2446 jturner@uab.edu
Elizabeth Varghese ESL Grants 152 205-996-6493 bethvar@uab.edu
Vanessa Vega Office of Clinical Experiences 213-A 205-934-8369 vevega@uab.edu
Elizabeth Whitehead Regional In-Service Center 232-RI 205-934-6264 ecw@uab.edu
Claudia Williams Center for Urban Education 246-A 205-996-6431 cjwillia@uab.edu
Shirley Wilson Dean’s Office 220 205-996-6609 sjwilson@uab.edu
Lashundra Wormley-Dooley Department of Human Studies 208 205-934-9463 lwormley@uab.edu

Dear Alumni and Friends,

The School of Education is proud of its alumni.  Our students go on to become award-winning teachers, education administrators, education consultants and leaders in their fields.

Whether you graduated last year, ten years ago, or thirty years ago, we value you as members of the UAB community.  I encourage you to see your role in our success. We have alumni representing education through all walks of life: as the State of Alabama’s Finance Director, Chief Program Officer for an International Orphanage, and finalists for the National Teacher of the Year Award.

As alumni, you continue to astonish us with your ability to shape the lives in your communities. There are many ways for you to become involved with the UAB School of Education and we welcome your feedback and suggestions. Our goal is to ensure that all alumni stay connected not only with the School, but also with their fellow UAB alumni and the broader UAB community.

Thank you in advance for your continued interest and support of UAB.

Deborah Voltz, Ed.D.

Upcoming Alumni Events

Alumni meetings scheduled for:

July 20 in
Washington DC
(view invitation)

 July 23 in
New Orleans
(view invitation)
 
RSVP to Lori Green (lorig@uab.edu), Director of Development