The Red Mountain Writing Project (RMWP) and The Maryann Manning Family Literacy Center within the UAB School of Education are excited to announce this year's literacies conference, which will be held December 1-2, 2017, on the campus of UAB. Faculty, students, alumni, and educators from near and far are invited to join 300+ guests as we welcome literacy experts and nationally renowned authors Dr. Doug Fisher, Dr. Nancy Frey, and Dr. Diane Lapp. Join us as they present interactive sessions on topics centered on literacy in resource limited settings, independent reading in the 21st century classroom, and increasing student access to literacy rich content.

We believe that literacy is the responsibility of all educators and we are committed to providing the resources and experiences necessary for educators to stay abreast of current practices and research within the field of literacy. Keeping this in mind, this year's conference will provide sessions specifically for administrators concerning their role in increasing literacy and improving literacy efforts within their schools, as well as presentations geared toward secondary teachers, elementary teachers, instructional coaches, teacher leaders, and reading coaches.

For more information or to register for the conference visit the Red Mountain Writing Project website.

The UAB School of Education will host a GEAR UP Alabama informational and open house Wednesday, Sept. 20.

The campus community is invited to learn more about GEAR UP Alabama. The UAB School of Education will host a GEAR UP Alabama informational and open house Wednesday, Sept. 20, in the Education Building. The informational will take place from 1-2 p.m in EB 146. The open house will follow, from 2-4 p.m in EB 126.


Join faculty, students, and alumni of the UAB School of Education at the Southeast Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (SETESOL) conference, October 4-7, 2017, in Birmingham, Alabama. This year’s conference is expected to attract over 600 educators from 11 states in the Southeast and beyond.

More than 200 presentations will take place during the four day conference on topics in the areas such as early childhood education, advocacy and culture, and content instruction. Keynote speakers will include Dr. Stephen Krashen, Professor Emeritus, University of Southern California and Dr. Paulette Dilworth, VP for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion at UAB.

Dr. Susan Spezzini, UAB School of Education Associate Professor, is this year’s conference chair. To learn more or register for the conference, visit the SETESOL website.

In her new job, former special education teacher and assistant principal Sandy Naramore makes dreams come true for children suffering from serious illnesses and conditions.

Back in April, the UAB School of Education selected Sandy Naramore as the Outstanding Early Childhood Special Education (ECSE) Alumna for 2017. The honor came just four months after she took the reins as executive director of Magic Moments, a nonprofit that grants non-medical wishes for youngsters suffering from life-threatening illnesses.

Anne Bruno LaRussa has worked for years to bring affordable mental health services to women and children in Birmingham. And she’s not done yet.

Birmingham native Anne Bruno LaRussa’s journey to becoming a mental health counselor started in the 1980s when she worked at a local community college advising older women who had returned to school to earn their degrees.