thumb carol garrison 1linda lucas web
UAB President Z. Carol Garrison, Ph.D., was awarded the Engineering Leadership Award 2011 from the Engineering Council of Birmingham.
She is the first UAB faculty member to receive the honor.
Linda Lucas, Ph.D., interim provost and former dean of the UAB School of Engineering, was named the Engineer of the Year for 2011. Two of the past three Engineer of the Year winners are UAB School of Engineering faculty members. Fouad H. Fouad, Ph.D., professor and chair Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering, won the honor in 2009. The event is held every year during National Engineers Week.