ecob undergraduatesUAB Undergraduate Student of the Year nominees, from left, Deborah Donaldson, Ranae Wright, Kathryn Sheibley, and Amar Ismali. Not pictured is Chase Long.
ecob graduatesUAB Graduate Student of the Year nominees, from left, Terrance Serna, Carrie Schindler, Thomas Anthony, Ossama Ramadan, and Quixiang Zang
     Click on the images above to view larger versions.
Photos courtesy of
Pierce Photography

Kathryn Sheibley was named UAB's Undergraduate student of the year, and Carrie Schindler was named graduate student of the year, at the Engineering Council of Birmingham's 55th annual awards ceremony.

Sheibley, a civil engineering major, is the recipient of the Golden Excellence Scholarhip and is a Dupuis Engineering Leadership Scholar. Her other honors include: Presidential Honors List, Excellence in General Chemistry, Dupuis Engineering Leadership Scholar, Science and Technology Honors Program, Alpha Lambda, Delta Honor Society, and Tau Beta Pi Honor Society.

Her research activities include: "Implementation of Leaching Environmental Assessment Framework (LEAF) Method 1315" to analyze leachate of coal combustion byproduct (CCB) mixtures; torsion testing of murine bones to analyze mechanical properties and relationship of the effect of adolescent limb-lengthening procedure; and various lab shadowing and paper analysis via the Science and Technology Honors Program.

Schindler is a Ph.D. candidate in Materials Science and Engineering. Her dissertation is on "Fabrication and Characterization of polymer systems using Dip-Pen Nanolithography," which focues on developing novel polymer blends of polyglyconate and polycaprolactone for applications in tissue engineering, functionalizing nanofiber scaffolds with polymer-pen nanolithography, and developing new techniques for manufacturing electroactive polymer composites.

Her other honors include: 2013 UAB STEM Life: Cell Biology Conference-Poster Presentation, 2nd place; 2012 Department of Defense SMART Fellowship Finalist; 2011 UAB Ireland Tuition Scholarship; and the 2012-2014 NASA Alabama Space Grant Recipient.