A school faculty affirmative action officer is appointed by the dean or director of each school or unit with regular faculty and serves as a member of The University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) Affirmative Action Officers Committee.  The committee is chaired by the UAB Faculty Affirmative Action Officer and meets regularly during each academic year.  

The duties and responsibilities of affirmative action officers include the following:

  1. Collect and maintain information on faculty vacancies, tenure decisions and promotions in the school or unit.
  2. Serve as a non-voting member of each faculty recruitment, tenure and promotion committee in the school or unit.
  3. Maintain a database of journals and publications read by minorities and women in each subject area of the school or unit.
  4. Review all advertisements for faculty vacancies before they are published.
  5. Serve as a resource for faculty recruiting for the dean or director and department chairs in the school or unit.
  6. Provide an annual report on recruiting activities in the school or unit to the dean or director and to the UAB Affirmative Action Officer.
  7. Certify that all recruitment policies and procedures have been followed for each recruitment activity by signing the Faculty Recruitment Experience Report.

UAB diversity contacts provide leadership in establishing diversity as a core value within the unit.

Search Committee Composition Report Form

2012-2013 Affirmative Action Officers (AAO) and Diversity Contacts (DC)

Arts and Sciences(CAS)  

Dr. Kathryn Morgan Associate Professor of Justice Sciences
Athletics Ms. Derita Ratcliffe (DC) Sr. Associate Athletic Director
Business Dr. George Munchus III Professor/Director of Management, Information Systems and Quantitative Methods
Dentistry   Dr. Madelyn Coar
Associate Professor, Endodontics/Dental Director of Diversity
  Ms. Ginger Hattaway  Manager, Financial Operations
Education Dr. Charles Calhoun Associate Professor
Engineering  Dr. Dalton Nelson Associate Professor, Engineering
  Dr. Virginia Sisiopiku   Associate Professor, Engineering
Health Professions  Mr. Michael Tate Personnel Generalist
Lister Hill Library   Mr. Michael Fitts

Assistant Professor/ Assistant Director, Access and Document Delivery Systems

Medicine   Dr. David A. Rogers Sr. Assoc. Dean-Faculty Development/ Pediatric Surgeon
Mervyn Sterne Library   Ms. Margaret "Peggy" Kain Electronic Resources Librarian
Nursing   Dr. Karen M. Meneses Professor/Associate Dean, Nursing
  Dr. Gwendolyn Childs Assistant Professor, Nursing
  Ms. Karen Buckner  Director of Operations
Optometry  Dr. Janene R. Sims  Assistant Professor, Optometry
  Ms. Myrtle P. Rutledge Business Officer I
Provost Office Mr. John A. King Program Manager, E-Learning & Professional Studies
Public Health Dr. Pauline Jolly Professor, Public Health
  Dr. Melissa Galvin  Professor, Public Health
V Provost Student and Faculty Success Ms. Janice B. Ward

Personnel Generalist

VP Development, Alumni & External Relations Ms. Julie Mahaffey (DC)

Administrative Associate

VP Financial Affairs & Administration Ms. Alesia M. Jones
Chief Human Resources Officer
  Ms. Anita Clemon (DC) Director, HR Compliance Administration