Ethics Bowl

Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl

UAB fields teams in two kinds of intellectually competitive Ethics Bowl. The first is the Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl, organized nationally in 10 regions. UAB competes in the Southeast Regional, commonly considered the toughest regional. Winners of the 10 regionals advance to a 32-team national competition each year. In 2010, UAB won the IEB National Championship in the second year in which UAB had participated. The UAB team (shown below) defeated Weber State for the national title.

The 2010 National Championship Team:


UAB is on track to retake the national title having lost last year in the final round. UAB won the Southeast Regional 8th Annual Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl competition having defeated Wake Forest for the regional title. UAB went undefeated. The national competition will be held in March of 2012.

The 2011 Regional Championship Team:


(Shown from left to right: Dr. Greg Pence, Rachel Rosales, Chris Graves, Ethan Mallick Hossain who is also Mr. UAB 2011, Maja Mzombwe, and Kevin Jiang)

Freshman Team

This year UAB entered two teams in the Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl. Both teams are coached by Dr. Greg Pence. The second team (shown below) consisted of UAB freshmen. The freshman team placed 7th overall.

(Shown from left to right: Shejuti Paul, Ameen Barghi, Mrs. Minnie Randle, Kevin Shrestha, Anjali Wagle, and Ali Simpson)

Bioethics Bowl

The Bioethics Bowl is a more recent development than the IEB and is focused more narrowly on cases in bioethics. It begins with 16 teams over 3 days and also has a champion. Analysis of cases with judges mirrors the format of the IEB. The Bioethics Bowl occurs in conjunction with the annual National Undergraduate Conference in Bioethics, and both are sponsored by the professional organization of bioethicists, the American Association of Bioethics and Humanities, ASBH.

Membership on the UAB teams occurs by taking a class, out of which auditions are held. Students in the past have spent year on practice teams or in support roles before making the official team. Offcial teams are limited to 5 students. The UAB Ethics Bowl team, coached by Philosophy professor Gregory Pence, has competed in the regional and national Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl for the past three years. In the competition, each team of 5 students analyzes 15 cases taken from real-life ethical scenarios and provides both an analysis of the ethical issues and a defense of a position on what should be done. The team is then grilled on its position first by an opposing team and then a panel of faculty judges.


The 2010 Ethics Bowl Team:


UAB Bioethics Bowl Team ready for a fight:

The 2011 Bioethics Bowl National Championship Team:


The Center for Ethics and Values in the Sciences, and the Early Medical School Acceptance Program, are official sponsors of both teams.