President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Award recipients are chosen from each of the schools by a school-established selection committee.  Each faculty member so-honored receives a cash award and a remembrance of his or her achievement. The formal honoring of faculty for teaching accomplishments with the President's Awards was begun by former UAB President Charles A. McCallum in 1990.

The 2013 President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching recipients are:

Kay Emfinger, Education
Chad Epps, Health Professions
Catherine Fuller, Joint Health Sciences
Timothy Gawne, Optometry
Daniel Givan, Dentistry
Kevin Leon, Medicine
Emily Levitan, Public Health
Cynthia Ryan, College of Arts and Sciences
Uday Vaidya, Engineering
Penni Watts, Nursing
James Worrell, Business's-award-for-excellence-in-teaching-goes-to-11