Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award

Nominations for the 2016 Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award are now open and will be accepted through September 1, 2016.

To be eligible for this prestigious annual award, an individual must be a full-time, part-time, or emeritus member with a primary or secondary appointment of the faculty of the Academic Health Center, or a University Professor who has:

  • Advanced the frontiers of science or otherwise made a significant contribution to the health of people, or
  • Made an outstanding contribution to the Academic Health Center through education, research, or public service.

Nominations for faculty in the Schools of Dentistry, Health Professions, Medicine, Nursing, Optometry, and Public Health, including Departments of the Joint Health Sciences, are welcome.

Nominations packets should include:
  1. a brief letter of nomination from the person submitting the nomination, and
  2. a current curriculum vitae of the nominee.
It is requested that nomination packets be in an electronic format and submitted via email to Linda Piteo, DFL Facilitator, at lapiteo@uab.edu. Hardcopy nominations may be submitted to Linda Piteo, AB 374, +0103.

The recipient will receive a $5,000 award and will be the keynote speaker at the DFL reception to be held in their honor in the fall.

Information related to the Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award can be obtained by calling Linda Piteo at extension 4-9438 or by emailing her at lapiteo@uab.edu.

Past Recipients

UAB Awards

National & International Awards