Graduate School Leadership 

Lori L. McMahon, Ph.D.

Lori L. McMahon, Ph.D.

Dean, UAB Graduate School
Jarman F. Lowder Professor of Neuroscience
Director, Comprehensive Neuroscience Center
Co-Director, Roadmap Scholars Program

mcmahon@uab.edu | (205) 975-8852 | LHL G03P 0013
Submit questions anonymously

Daniel C. Bullard, Ph.D.

Daniel C. Bullard, Ph.D.

Associate Dean, for Recruitment, Retention, & Diversity
Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Biomedical Programs, School of Medicine
Co-Director, Genetics and Genomic Sciences Undergraduate Program
Professor, Department of Genetics

dcbullard@uab.edu | 205-934-7768 | LHL G03N

David Schneider, Ph.D.

David Schneider, Ph.D.

Associate Dean, Graduate Biomedical Sciences
Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics

dschneid@uab.edu | (205) 934-2845 | SHEL 120G-2182

Lisa Schwiebert, Ph.D.

Lisa Schwiebert, Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs
Professor, Department of Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology
Director, Mentored Experiences in Research, Instruction, and Teaching (MERIT) Program

lschwieb@uab.edu | (205) 934-3970 | LHL G03 0013



Graduate School Office 

Cynthia Ballinger, M.B.A.

Cynthia Ballinger, M.B.A.

Director, Administrative & Fiscal Affairs
cknight@uab.edu | (205) 975-7188 | LHL G03-J 0013

Human resources, finances

Ciara B Duncan

Ciara B Duncan

Coordinator of Student Admissions & Records
ciarabd@uab.edu | (205) 996-6355 | LHL GO3

Graduate Admissions

Kimberly Eaton

Communications and Events Specialist
kimeaton@uab.edu | (205) 975-6539 | LHL GO3

Coordinates all Graduate School events and communications

Thomas Harris

Executive Assistant I
tharris@uab.edu | (205) 996-4062 | LHL G03-A2 0013

Administrative support for the Graduate School Dean and UAB PREP Scholars Program.

Millicent Lindsay

CRM Administrator
mlindsay@uab.edu | (205) 996-2947 | LHL G03 0013

Graduate Admissions

Holly Hebard, M.S., NCC

Holly Hebard, M.S., NCC

Director of Student and Academic Services
hghebard@uab.edu | (205) 996-5696 | LHL G03 0013

Oversee the Graduate School Admissions team, as well as handle residency reclassification, appeals, and other student services

Darrell Curtis Jones, M.B.A.

Darrell Curtis Jones, M.B.A.

Records & Data Coordinator
cjones76@uab.edu | (205) 996-7485 | LHL G03-D 0013

Maintenance of graduate student records and data

Marla Jones

Marla Jones

Educational Services Coordinator
mcjones@uab.edu | (205) 996-2583 | LHL G03-C 0013

Applications for Degree or Certificate (Graduation), Diploma Orders, Transfer of Graduate Credit

Savitha Memula

Savitha Memula

Data Processing Specialist II, Biomedical Training Data Service
smemula@uab.edu | (205) 996-9798 | SHEL 121-B 2182

Provides data support for NIH training grants, institutional reports.

Lori Naramore

Lori Naramore

Customer Relations Specialist
naramor3@uab.edu | (205) 996-4061 | LHL G03-C1 0013

Processing graduate student committees, admissions to candidacy and graduate faculty paperwork

Dawn Ribe

Dawn Ribe

Customer Relations Specialist
dribe@uab.edu | (205) 934-8227 | LHL G03-A1 0013

Customer service support for potential and current students, staff, and faculty; administrative support for the Professional Development Program

Penny Seals, M.A.

Penny Seals, M.A.

Coordinator Student Admissions and Records
psseals@uab.edu | (205) 934-0656 | LHL G03-A1 0013

Graduate Admissions



Professional Development Program 

Kellie Carter, Ph.D.

Kellie Carter, Ph.D.

Director of Professional Development Program
Director of Mentoring and Leadership Certificate Program

kcarter@uab.edu
| (205) 975-8724 | LHL G03-G 0013

Oversees Professional Development Program, Director of Mentoring and Leadership Certificate Program

Nancy G. Abney, M.A. TESOL

Nancy G. Abney, M.A. TESOL

Program Manager, Senior Instructor & Curriculum Developer
CIRTL Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
nabney@uab.edu | (205) 934-8129 | LHL G03-D1 0013

Teaching Assistant and future faculty training; CIRTL teaching certificates

Jeff D. Walker, Ph.D.

Jeff D. Walker, Ph.D.

Lead Academic Writing and Communications/ Instructor
jeffwalk@uab.edu | (205) 934-3198 | LHL G03-D1 0013


Graduate Biomedical Sciences Office

Emily Anderson

Emily Anderson

Office Associate II
eanders@uab.edu | (205) 996-6752 | SHEL 120F
Felita Milon, M.S.A

Felita Milon, M.S.A

Finance & Human Resources Manager
fmilon@uab.edu | (205) 934-7810 | SHEL 120 2182

Manages, recruits and performs administrative tasks for the Graduate Biomedical Office. Oversees HR and finance.

Jessica Stephenson, N.C.C.

Jessica Stephenson, N.C.C.

Curriculum and Website Manager
jstephenson@uab.edu | (205) 934-7034 | SHEL 120E
Nan Travis

Nan Travis

Process Manager
ntravis@uab.edu | (205) 934-1033 | SHEL 120-B 2182
Alyssa Zasada, M.Ed.

Alyssa Zasada, M.Ed.

Communication & Events Manager
zasada@uab.edu | (205) 934-3857 | SHEL 120A

 

Graduate School - Office of Postdoctoral Education 

Jami K Armbrester, M.S.

Jami K Armbrester, M.S.

Director of Doctoral Career Services
JamiA@uab.edu | (205) 934-6809 | SHEL 171-A 2182
Susan Eades

Susan Eades

Administrative Associate
sewalker@uab.edu | (205) 975-7021 | SHEL 171-2182

Benita James

Office Associate II
benitapj@uab.edu | 205.975.7020 | SHEL 171-2182