Program Program Director/Coordinator P.D. E-mail
College of Arts & Sciences
Anthropology (degree granted by UA) Dr. Loretta Cormier lcormier@uab.edu
Anthropology of Peace and Human Rights (MA) Dr. Doug Fry dfry@uab.edu
Applied Mathematics (PHD) Dr. Yulia Karpechina karpeshi@uab.edu
Art History (MA) Dr. Cathleen Cummings cathleen@uab.edu
Behavioral Neuroscience Psychology (PHD) Dr. Franklin Amthor amthorfr@uab.edu
Biology (MS-includes Fast Track, PHD) Dr. Stephen Watts sawatts@uab.edu
  Dr. Karolina Mukhtar kmukhtar@uab.edu
Chemistry (MS, PHD) Dr. Eugenia Kharlampieva ekharlam@uab.edu
Communication Management (MA) Dr. Jonathan Amsbary amsbary@uab.edu
Computer & Information Sciences (MS-includes Fast Track, PHD) Dr. Chengcui Zhang czhang02@uab.edu
     Bioinformatics (CERT)    
     Computer Forensics (CERT)    
Computer Forensic Security Management (MS) Dr. Nitesh Saxena (Computer Science) saxena@uab.edu
  Dr. Jeffery Walker (Justice Sciences) jeffw@uab.edu
  Dr. Allen Johnston (Business) ajohnston@uab.edu
Criminal Justice (MSCJ) Dr. Hayden Griffin hgriffin@uab.edu  
Developmental Psychology (PHD) Dr. Fred Biasini fbiasini@uab.edu
English (MA) Dr. Kyle Grimes kgrimes@uab.edu
Forensic Science (MSFS) Dr. Elizabeth Gardner eagard@uab.edu
History (MA) Dr. Andrew Keitt akeitt@uab.edu
Mathematics-includes Fast Track (MS) Dr. Yulia Karpechina karpeshi@uab.edu
Medical / Clinical Psychology (PHD) Dr. Edwin Cook III ecook@uab.edu
Medical Sociology (PHD)  Dr. Patricia Drentea pdrentea@uab.edu
     
Physics (MS, PHD) Dr. Mary Ellen Zvanut mezvanut@uab.edu
Public Administration (MPA) Dr. Akhlaque Haque ahaque@uab.edu
     Non-Profit Management (CERT)    
Social Work (MSW) - new program effective Fall 2017 Dr. David Pollio davpoll@uab.edu 
Sociology-Online (MA) Dr. Cullen Clark culclark@uab.edu
School of Education
Arts Education (MAE) Dr. Lynn Kirkland lkirk@uab.edu 
Collaborative Special Education K-12: Autism Spectrum Disorder (EDS) Dr. Lynn Kirkland lkirk@uab.edu
Early Childhood Education (MAE, EDS, PHD) Dr. Lynn Kirkland lkirk@uab.edu 
  Dr. James Ernest  jernest@uab.edu 
Elementary Education (MAE, EDS) Dr. Lynn Kirkland lkirk@uab.edu 
English as a Second Language (MAE, EDS) Dr. Lynn Kirkland lkirk@uab.edu
  Dr. Susan Spezzini spezzini@uab.edu
High School / Secondary Education (MAE, EDS) Dr. Lynn Kirkland lkirk@uab.edu 
     
Instructional Design & Development (MS) Dr. Lynn Kirkland lkirk@uab.edu
Reading (MAE, CERT) Dr. Lynn Kirkland lkirk@uab.edu
School Psychometry (CERT, MAEd) Dr. Stephanie Corcoran corcoran@uab.edu
Special Education (MAE) Dr. Lynn Kirkland lkirk@uab.edu 
     
Teacher Leader (EDS) Dr. Lynn Kirkland lkirk@uab.edu
Community Health (MAE) Dr. Retta Evans rrevans@uab.edu
Counseling: Clinical Mental Health, Marriage/Couples/Family, School (MA) Dr. Shannon McCarthy  smcc@uab.edu
     
     Marriage, Couples, and Family Counseling (CERT)    
Educational Leadership (MAE, EDS, EDD) Dr. Keith Gurley kgurley@uab.edu
     Educational Leadership (CERT)    
Educational Studies in Diverse Populations (PHD) Dr. Andrew McKnight anmcknig@uab.edu
  Dr. Susan Spezzini spezzini@uab.edu
Health Education / Promotion (PHD) Dr. Retta Evans rrevans@uab.edu
Kinesiology (MS, EDS): Physical Education Dr. Sandra Sims sksims@uab.edu
Kinesiology (MS): Exercise Physiology Dr. Gary Hunter ghunter@uab.edu 
Educational Foundations and Educational Psychology/Research Dr. Tondra Loder-Jackson tloder@uab.edu
(catalog and course schedule for these programs which do not grant degrees) Dr. Melanie Shores mshores@uab.edu
  Dr. Kristi Menear kmenear@uab.edu
Accreditation and Program Development Dr. Courtney Bentley bentleyc@uab.edu 
Teacher Certification Specialist Ekandrea Tarver edtarver@uab.edu
School of Business
Accounting-on campus (MAC-includes Fast Track) Dr. James Byrd jimbyrd@uab.edu
Accounting-online (MAC) Dr. James Byrd jimbyrd@uab.edu
Complete File Notifications - send to Wendy and Joe    
Business Administration (MBA) Dr. Kenneth Miller klmiller@uab.edu
Management Information Systems-online (MS) Dr. Allen Johnston  ajohnston@uab.edu
Complete File Notifications - send to Wendy and Joe    
Social Media (CERT) Dr. Kenneth Miller kmiller@uab.edu
Technology Commercialization & Entrepreneurship (CERT) Dr. Doug Ayers dayers@uab.edu
School of Dentistry
Dentistry (MS) Dr. Amjad Javed javeda@uab.edu
School of Engineering
Advanced Safety Engineering & Management (MENG) Dr. Donny Burke dburke3@uab.edu 
Biomedical Engineering (MSBME-includes Fast Track, PHD) Dr. Ho-Wook Jun hwjun@uab.edu 
Civil Engineering (MSCE-includes Fast Track, PHD) Dr. Robert Peters rwpeters@uab.edu
     Construction Engineering (CERT)    
     Environmental Engineering (CERT)    
     Geotechnical Engineering (CERT)    
     Structural Engineering (CERT)    
     Sustainable Engineering (CERT)    
     Transportation Engineering (CERT)    
Computer Engineering (PHD) Dr. Karthikeyan Lingasubramanian klinga@uab.edu
  Dr. Leon Jololian  leon@uab.edu 
Construction Engineering Management (MENG) Dr. Fouad H. Fouad  ffouad@uab.edu 
Design & Commercialization (MENG) Dr. Alan Eberhardt aeberhar@uab.edu
Electrical Engineering-includes Fast Track (MSEE) Dr. Karthikeyan Lingasubramanian klinga@uab.edu
     Electrical Power Systems (CERT)  Dr. Leon Jololian  leon@uab.edu
Information Engineering Management (MENG) Dr. Dale Callahan dcallahan@uab.edu
Interdisciplinary Engineering (PHD) Dr. Tim Wick tmwick@uab.edu 
Leonardo Art & Engineering (CERT) Dr. David Littlefield littlefield@uab.edu
Materials Engineering (MSMTE-includes Fast Track, PHD) Dr. Charlie Monroe camonroe@uab.edu
Mechanical Engineering-includes Fast Track (MSME) Dr. David Littlefield littlefield@uab.edu
Structural Engineering (MENG) Dr. Christopher Waldron cwaldron@uab.edu
Sustainable Smart Cities (MENG) Dr. Jason Kirby jtkirby@uab.edu
School of Health Professions
Administrative Health Services (DSC, PhD) Dr. Bob Hernandez (DSC) hernande@uab.edu
  Leandra Celaya (DSC) lcelaya@uab.edu
  Dr. Larry Hearld (PHD) lhearld@uab.edu
Clinical Informatics (CERT) Dr. Sue Feldman sfeldman@uab.edu
     
Health Administration-Executive (MSHA) Dr. Amy Landry akyarb@uab.edu
     Saudi Arabia Cohort (MSHA) Dr. Bob Hernandez hernande@uab.edu
  Leandra Celaya lcelaya@uab.edu
Health Administration-Residential (MSHA) Dr. Amy Landry akyarb@uab.edu
     Healthcare Financial Management (CERT)    
Health Informatics (MSHI) Dr. Sue Feldman sfeldman@uab.edu
  Amanda Dorsey adorsey@uab.edu
Health Physics (MS) Norman Bolus bolusn@uab.edu
Healthcare Quality and Safety (MS, CERT) Dr. Deirdre McCaughey deirdre1@uab.edu 
     
Nutrition Sciences (MS, PHD) Dr. Brenda Bertrand (MS): LMDP, Research tracks brendamb@uab.edu
  Carleton Rivers (MS): DI/Clinical track meadows4@uab.edu 
  Claudia Follette (MS): Dietitian Education track follette@uab.edu 
  Dr. Jose Fernandez  jose@uab.edu
Occupational Therapy Entry Level-includes Fast Track (MS) Dr. Gavin Jenkins jenkinsg@uab.edu
     
Occupational Therapy Low Vision Rehab (CERT) Dr. Mary Warren warrenm@uab.edu
Physical Therapy (DPT) Dr. Diane Clark clark@uab.edu
     
Rehabilitation Sciences (PHD) Dr. David Brown dbrownpt@uab.edu
     
     
Clinical & Diagnostic Sciences    
Biomedical & Health Sciences (MS) Dr. Mark Bevensee (co-director) bevensee@uab.edu
  Kara Caruthers (co-director) kcaruthe@uab.edu
Biotechnology (MS) Dr. Tino Unlap unlap@uab.edu
     Biotechnology Regulatory Affairs (CERT)    
Clinical Laboratory Sciences (MS) Dr. Floyd Josephat josephat@uab.edu 
Genetic Counseling (MS) Patricia Page ppage@uab.edu
Nuclear Medicine Technology (MS) Norman Bolus bolusn@uab.edu
Physician Assistant Studies (MSPAS) Dr. James "Rick" Kilgore jrkilgo@uab.edu
School of Joint Health Sciences / Graduate Biomedical Sciences
Biochemistry, Structural & Stem Cell Biology (PHD) - THEME Dr. Thomas Ryan tryan@uab.edu
  Dr. Chad Petit cpetit@uab.edu
Cancer Biology (PHD) - THEME Dr. Lalita Shevde-Samant lsamant@uab.edu
  Dr. Sooryanarayana Varambally svarambally@uabmc.edu
Cell, Molecular & Developmental Biology (PHD) - THEME Dr. Alecia Gross agross@uab.edu
  Dr. Candace Floyd clfloyd@uab.edu 
  Dr. John Parant jparant@uab.edu
Genetics, Genomics & Bioinformatics (PHD) - THEME Dr. Kevin Dybvig dybvig@uab.edu
  Dr. Zsuzsanna Bebok bebok@uab.edu
Immunology (PHD) - THEME Dr. Lou Justement lbjust@uab.edu
  Dr. Laurie Harrington lharring@uab.edu
  Dr. Chris Klug chrisk@uab.edu
Microbiology (PHD) - THEME Dr. Janet Yother jyother@uab.edu 
  Dr. Peter Prevelige prevelig@uab.edu
Neuroscience (PHD) - THEME Dr. Rita Cowell rcowell@uab.edu
  Dr. Karen Gamble klgamble@uab.edu
Pathobiology & Molecular Medicine (PHD) - THEME Dr. Robert van Waardenburg rvanwaar@uab.edu
  Dr. Yabing Chen ybchen@uab.edu
School of Medicine    
Gerontology (CERT) Dr. Patricia Sawyer psawyer@uab.edu
Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP) Dr. Robin Lorenz rlorenz@uab.edu
School of Nursing
Clinical Research Management (CERT) Lygia Holcomb lholcomb@uab.edu
Nursing (PHD) Dr. Karen Heaton (coordinator) kharnp@uab.edu 
  Dr. Linda Moneyham (co-director) moneyham@uab.edu
  Dr. Karen Meneses (co-director) menesesk@uab.edu
Nursing (MSN): AMNP, Nurse Anesthesia (NA), non-degree (ND) Dr. Ashley Hodges ashleyhodges@uab.edu
Nursing (DNP) Dr. Linda Roussel lroussel@uab.edu 
School of Optometry
Vision Science (MS, MS/OD, PHD) Dr. Michael Twa mtwa@uab.edu
School of Public Health
Global Health Studies (CERT) Dr. Henna Budhwani budhwani@uab.edu
Public Health (CERT)    
Department of Biostatistics    
Biostatistics (MPH, MS, MSPH-Clin/Trans Sci BST, PHD) Dr. Jeff Szychowski jszychow@uab.edu 
     Statistical Genetics (CERT)    
Department of Environmental Health Sciences    
Environmental Health Sciences (MPH-includes Fast Track, MSPH, PHD) Dr. Ilias Kavouras kavouras@uab.edu 
Department of Epidemiology Dr. Sadeep Shrestha (EPI PHD) sshresth@uab.edu
Epidemiology (MPH-includes Fast Track, MSPH-Clin/Trans Sci EPI, PHD) Dr. Olivia Affuso (EPI MPH) oaffuso@uab.edu
  Dr. Gerald McGwin (EPI MSPH) mcgwin@uab.edu
Department of Health Behavior Dr. Robin Lanzi rlanzi@uab.edu
Health Behavior (MPH-includes Fast Track, MSPH-Clin/Trans Sci HB)    
Health Education / Promotion (PHD)    
Department of Health Care Organization & Policy    
General Theory & Practice-includes Fast Track (MPH) Dr. Stephen Mennemeyer smenneme@uab.edu
Health Care Organization (MPH-includes Fast Track, DRPH) Dr. Stephen Mennemeyer (MPH) smenneme@uab.edu
  Dr. David Becker (DRPH) dbecker@uab.edu
Health Policy-includes Fast Track (MPH) Dr. Stephen Mennemeyer smenneme@uab.edu
Maternal & Child Health Policy & Leadership-includes Fast Track (MPH) Dr. Martha Wingate mslay@uab.edu
Outcomes Research (MSPH) Dr. Meredith Kilgore mkilgore@uab.edu
Preparedness Management & Policy-includes Fast Track (MPH) Dr. Stephen Mennemeyer smenneme@uab.edu