Contact Us

The Graduate School Office is located on the ground floor of
Lister Hill Library,
1700 University Boulevard.

Regular office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday-Friday.
UAB is in the Central Time Zone.

Mailing Addresses

United States Postal Service:
UAB Graduate School
LHL G03
1720 2nd Avenue South
Birmingham, AL  35294-0013  

Phone: (205) 934-8227
Fax: (205) 934-8413
gradschool@uab.edu           

Shipping Companies:
UAB Graduate School
LHL G03
1700 University Boulevard
Birmingham, AL  35294-0013

 

Admissions, Online Applications

205-934-8227

Registration Holds, Residency, Academic Common Market

205-996-5696

Academic Appeals

205-934-8227

Undergraduates Registering for Graduate Courses

205-934-8227

Graduate Student Committee, Admission to Candidacy

205-996-4061

Theses and Dissertations, Graduate Faculty

205-975-8852

Graduation and Diplomas

205-996-2583

Professional Development Classes and Seminars

205-975-8724 (Carter)
205-934-8129 (Abney)     

205-975-8852 (Greer)
205-215-0936 (Shadix)

Special Events and Ceremonies

205-975-6539

Graduate School Office (http://www.uab.edu/graduate)

Name, E-Mail, Phone

Main Responsibilities

Campus Address

Nancy G. Abney, M.A. TESOL
Program Manager I: Professional Development Program
nabney@uab.edu
(205) 934-8129

TA and future faculty training; CIRTL teaching certificates

LHL G03-D1
0013

Cynthia Ballinger, M.B.A.
Business Officer II
cknight@uab.edu
(205) 975-7188

Human resources, finances, academic appeals

LHL G03-J
0013

Kellie Carter, Ph.D.
Director of Educational Services and
Professional Development Program
kcarter@uab.edu
(205) 975-8724

Oversees Professional Development Program, co-diretor of CIRTL Certificate Program

LHL G03-G
0013

Jeffrey A. Engler, Ph.D.
Associate Dean: Academic Affairs
Director, CIRTL@UAB (www.uab.edu/cirtl)
Director, UAB PREP Scholars Program (www.uab.edu/prep)
engler@uab.edu
(205) 934-4734

Oversees the CIRTL Certificate Program and UAB PREP Scholars Programs

LHL G03-N
0013

Jennifer L. Greer, M.A.-ESL, Ph.D.
Lead Instructor, Writing/Publishing: Professional Development Program
jlgreer1@uab.edu
(205) 996-6355

Teaches and coordinates curriculum/instruction for professional writing and publishing courses, workshops, and services

LHL G03-F
0013

Thomas Harris
Executive Assistant I
tharris@uab.edu
(205) 996-4062

Administrative support for the Graduate School Dean and UAB PREP Scholars Program

LHL G03-A2
0013

Jasmine Hodges, M.A.
Adjunct Writing Instructor: Professional Development Program
jehodges@uab.edu
(205) 996-6355

Teaches academic and research writing for graduate students, specializing in online instruction

LHL G03-D1
0013

Darrell Curtis Jones, M.B.A.
Program Coordinator II
cjones76@uab.edu
(205) 996-7485

Manage: Xtender Records System, Apply Yourself (transcripts), and process student organization payment requests

LHL G03-D
0013

Marla Jones
Program Administrator II
mcjones@uab.edu
(205) 996-2583

Applications for Degree or Certificate (Graduation), Diploma Orders, Transfer of Graduate Credit

LHL G03-C
0013

Lori Naramore
Office Associate II
naramor3@uab.edu
(205) 996-4061

Processing graduate student committees, admissions to candidacy and graduate faculty paperwork, Professional Development Department support

LHL G03-C1
0013

Susan Noblitt Banks
Director for Student and Academic Services
snoblitt@uab.edu
(205) 996-5696

Operations, residency, registration holds, undergraduate registration for graduate courses, academic common market

LHL G03-K
0013

Bryan D. Noe, Ph.D.
Dean
bnoe@uab.edu
(205) 975-8852

Oversees operations of all units within the Graduate School

LHL G03-P
0013

Thalia Dawn Ribe
Office Svcs Spec III
dribe@uab.edu
(205) 934-8227

 

LHL G03-A1 0013

Susan Rich, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Dean: Life Sciences
srich@uab.edu
(205) 996-4835

Liaison with the Graduate Biomedical Sciences Themes and Office of Postdoctoral Education

SHEL 121-C
2182

Jonghee Shadix, M.A.
Teacher: Professional Development Program
jshadix@uab.edu
(205) 996-2947

Pronunciation instructor

LHL G03-D1
0013

 

 Graduate Biomedical Sciences Office (http://www.uab.edu/gbs)

Name, E-Mail, Phone

Main Responsibilities

Campus Address

Susan Rich, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Dean: Life Sciences
srich@uab.edu
(205) 996-4835

Liaison with the Graduate Biomedical Sciences Themes and Office of Postdoctoral Education SHEL 121C
2182

Stephen Scott Austin
Business Officer I, Graduate Biomedical Sciences (GBS)
ScottA@uab.edu
(205) 934-2845

Manages GBS operations, human resources and finances SHEL 120-G
2182
Kristin Boggs
Program Manager I, Biochemistry & Structural Biology and Pathobiology & Molecular Medicine themes
kboggs@uab.edu
(205) 934-7810
Manages, recruits and performs administrative tasks for the Biochemistry & Structural Biology and Pathobiology & Molecular Medicine themes SHEL 120-E
2182
Nicole Cross
Program Manager I, Immunology and Microbiology Program
nicolen@uab.edu
(205) 934-3857
Manages, recruits and performs administrative tasks for the Immunology and Microbiology themes  SHEL 120-A
2182
Lakan L Drinker
Office Services Spec I, Graduate Biomedical Sciences (GBS)
lakand@uab.edu
(205) 996-6752
General administrative support for Graduate Biomedical Sciences (GBS) office SHEL 120
2182

Patricia Matthews
Program Manager I, Cancer Biology and Neuroscience Program
pm1@uab.edu
(205) 934-7034

Manages, recruits and performs administrative tasks for the Cancer Biology and Neuroscience biomedical themes SHEL 120-C
2182

Savitha Memula
Data Processing Specialist II, Biomedical Training Data Service
smemula@uab.edu
(205) 996-9798

Provides data support for NIH training grants, institutional reports and GBS office SHEL 121-B
2182
Nan Travis
Program Administrator II, Cell, Molecular & Developmental Biology and Genetics & Genomic Sciences 
ntravis@uab.edu
(205) 934-1033
Manages, recruits and performs administrative tasks for the Cell, Molecular & Developmental Biology and Genetics & Genomics biomedical themes SHEL 120-B
2182

 

Graduate School - Office of Postdoctoral Education (http://www.postdocs.uab.edu/)

Name, E-Mail, Phone

Main Responsibilities

Campus Address

Susan Rich, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Dean: Life Sciences
srich@uab.edu
(205) 996-4835

Liaison with the graduate Biomedical Sciences Themes and Office of Postdoctoral Education SHEL 121-C
2182
Lisa Schwiebert, PhD
Associate Dean for Postdoctoral Education
lschwieb@uab.edu
(205) 934-3970
Oversees the Office of Postdoctoral Education MCLM 955
0005
Alana Keith
Administrative Associate
alanakei@uab.edu
(205) 975-7021
Administrative support for the Office of Postdoctoral Education SHEL 171-C
2182
Linda Luck
Program Manager I
lluck@uab.edu
(205) 975-7020
Administrative support for current and potential postdocs, faculty mentors, and department administrators including recruitment, monitoring the centralized hiring process, database, financial statements, and coordination of professional development events SHEL 171-C
2182