PGP Whole Disk Encryption - Adding and Removing Users in PGP Desktop

In order to add or remove users, an authorized passphrase user must be present (i.e., the person that encrypted the laptop).

Adding a user in PGP 9.9.1 | Adding a user in PGP 9.9.0 or 9.6 | Removing a user

Adding a user in PGP 9.9.1+

  1. In our example below, the system contains only one user (Test).

  2. To add and enroll a new user, we simply logoff and let that user login.  When the user logs in, they will receive a PGP Enrollment prompt where they will need to enter their BlazerID (even if they use a different local login), to create a Whole Disk Recovery Token on the key server.

  3. Once properly authenticated, the user can enter their local credentials which will be added to the copy of PGP Desktop installed on their system.

  4. The user should now show in the list of authorized passphrase users, and their password should work on the grey PGP Bootguard screen.

Back to Top

 

Adding a User in PGP 9.9.0 or 9.6

  1. On the PGP Desktop main screen, click the item in the sidebar to which you want to give a user access, and then click New Passphrase User.

  2. You will now begin the New User Wizard.  Select Use Windows Password and click Next.
  3. On the Protection Method screen, select Passphrase and click Next.
  4. Enter a Username, Domain and Password for the user and click Next.  If the computer is not on a domain, then the Domain section will contain the computer name, otherwise it will contain the domain that the system is in (i.e., UAB).
  5. To finish adding a new user, you will need to enter the password of an existing user on the device and click OK.

  6. If you see the user added to the device in the main PGP Desktop window, you have successfully added a user.
  7. When the user logs in for the first time, they will receive an enrollment prompt like the one below. The user will need to enter their BlazerID (even if they use a different local login), to create a Whole Disk Recovery Token on the key server.

Back to Top

Removing a User

  1. On the PGP Desktop main screen, click the item in the sidebar to which you want to remove a user's access.

  2. Select the user name in the bottom pane, and click Delete User.
  3. You will be prompted for the passphrase of any authorized user on the system (including the user being removed).  Enter a password and click OK.

  4. If an acceptable password was provided, you will receive a confirmation message.  Click Yesif you want to remove the user and they will no longer appear in the PGP Desktop pane.

Back to Top

Last modified on October 11, 2012