Internet hoaxes are rumors you receive by e-mail, usually accompanied by the suggestion that you forward copies of this information to "Everyone you know".

Sometimes computer viruses are distributed this way; in other cases, this behavior constitutes a nuisance by creating large amounts of junk e-mail.

SOLUTION:

You should be suspicious of any message that encourages you to "notify everyone you know", *EVEN* when you know the person who sent you the message. Your friends may not know as much about Internet hoaxes as you do.

List of known hoaxes can be found at:

                List_of_hoaxes 1   List_of_hoaxes 2

Published in FAQ - Infrastructure

In Outlook 2010:

1. In Outlook 2010, select the Folder Ribbon.

2. Then select the Recover Deleted Items button.

3. Select the item and select Recover Selected Items.

In Outlook 2007:

 

1. In Outlook 2007, in the folder from which you deleted the Item, or in the Deleted Items folder, select Recover Deleted Items on the Tools menu.

2. Select the item and select Recover Selected Items.

In OWA:

1. Login to OWA, and right-click on the Deleted Items folder.

2. Then select Recover Deleted Items.

3. Select the item and select Recover Selected Items.

Please remember, you can only recover items that were deleted in the past 30 days.

Published in FAQ - Infrastructure

 

  1. Open Outlook Web App (OWA). The URL is https://mail.ad.uab.edu.

  2. Sign in with your BlazerID & Password.

  3. In the top right corner, click Options> See All Options.

    See All Options


  4. On the left side, click Organize E-mail.

    Organize E-Mail


  5. At the top center, click Delivery Reports.

    Delivery Reports


  6. Click Select Usersin the “Search for Messages I’ve sent to:” section.

    Select Recipient


  7. Find the person you sent the email to, double-click their name, and click the OK button at the bottom (note: if you sent an email to multiple persons, you only have to supply the name of one recipient).

  8. On the right side, click Search.

    Click Search


  9. Find the email in question in the Search Results window and double-click it.

  10. The next screen will show you the delivery status and time delivered for each person that the email was addressed to.

    Message Details

 

NOTES

  • Delivery Reports are only available for messages sent within the past 7 days.

  • If you sent the message off-campus, you will see this message in the Delivery Report: “The message was successfully handed off to a different e-mail system. This is as far as we can track it.” If you see that message, then the email made it out of UAB’s email system and we cannot track it any further. You will need to contact the recipient’s email administrators if message tracking is needed beyond this point.
Published in FAQ - Infrastructure

 

  1. Open Outlook Web App (OWA). The URL is https://mail.ad.uab.edu.

  2. Sign in with your BlazerID and Password.

  3. In the top right corner, click Options> See All Options.

    See All Options


  4. On the left side, click Groups.

    Click Groups


  5. On the right side is a list called Public Groups I Own. If you have rights to manage a distribution list, you should see it listed. Double-click the group you wish to manage.

    Public Groups


  6. Double-click on Membership to see all members, and to make the Add and Remove buttons visible.

  7. a. To remove a member, click the member’s name and click Remove. Then click Save.

    b. To add a member, click Add then search for the appropriate name in the subsequent window. Double-click the person you want to add, then click OK. Click Save.

Published in FAQ - Infrastructure

What is Outlook Web App Light?

Outlook Web App (OWA) Light is designed to aid those with low vision & to support web browsers that are not compatible with the Premium version.  There are fewer features in OWA Light.  These web browsers are listed by Microsoft as compatible with Outlook Web App Premium:

Windows XP & Later

  • Internet Explorer 7 & later
  • Firefox 3.0.1 & later
  • Chrome 3.0.195.27 & later

Mac OS X 10.5 & Later

  • Safari 3.1 & later
  • Firefox 3.0.1 & later

Linux

  • Firefox 3.0.1 & later

This is what OWA Light looks like:

OWA Looks Like

The easiest way to sign in to OWA Light is to check the box to “use the light version of Outlook Web App” when signing in to https://mail.ad.uab.edu

OWS Light login

If you find yourself using Outlook Web App Light, but wish to use Outlook Web Access Premium, there are 3 things to check:

  1. Are you using a compatible browser (as listed above)?
  2. Make sure the check box beside “Use the light version of Outlook Web App” is not checked when signing in. 
  3. Uncheck “Use the blind and low vision experience by performing the following steps:
    1.  While looking at your mailbox in OWA, click the “Options” button at the top.
    2. Click Accessibility on the left side
    3. Uncheck “Use the blind and low vision experience
    4. Click Save (just above the check mark)OWA Accessibility
    5. Click “Sign out” in the top right corner
    6. Sign back in to https://mail.ad.uab.edu
Published in FAQ - Infrastructure

Why does the login page want to know if I'm on a public or private computer?

The network wants to know if someone could access your email account (and any personal information located there) and the security measures it needs to take to protect it. In OWA 2010, your information will be stored in a cookie, not in the browser. This means that your login information will be cleared when you log out of OWA - there is no "Remember my password" option.

Secondly, your session will expire (and you will have to login again) if the account is inactive for a period of time. If you are on a public or shared computer, timeout occurs after fifteen minutes of inactivity. You will have more time on your private computer. When timeout does occur, the page will remain the same until you try to perform another action. At this point, you will be prompted to log on again.

These measures help to protect your privacy, but they are not a replacement for the personal security measures you should already be taking:

  1. Never walk away from a public computer without logging off completely.
  2. Always log off of OWA and close the browser before you move on to a website that might not be secure. In OWA 2010, the Log Off button is located in Navigation pane, on the right-hand side. You will be prompted to close the browser window.
  3. Never disclose your password to anyone. With your BlazerID and password, they will have access more than just your email.
  4. The Internet Privacy setting ( Tools>Internet Options>Privacy ) should be at Medium or higher.

Even if you are on your personal computer, think of everyone who could have access to it (colleagues and roommates included).

Published in FAQ - Infrastructure