Why does the login page want to know if I'm on a public or private computer?

The network wants to know if someone could access your email account (and any personal information located there) and the security measures it needs to take to protect it. In OWA 2010, your information will be stored in a cookie, not in the browser. This means that your login information will be cleared when you log out of OWA - there is no "Remember my password" option.

Secondly, your session will expire (and you will have to login again) if the account is inactive for a period of time. If you are on a public or shared computer, timeout occurs after fifteen minutes of inactivity. You will have more time on your private computer. When timeout does occur, the page will remain the same until you try to perform another action. At this point, you will be prompted to log on again.

These measures help to protect your privacy, but they are not a replacement for the personal security measures you should already be taking:

  1. Never walk away from a public computer without logging off completely.
  2. Always log off of OWA and close the browser before you move on to a website that might not be secure. In OWA 2010, the Log Off button is located in Navigation pane, on the right-hand side. You will be prompted to close the browser window.
  3. Never disclose your password to anyone. With your BlazerID and password, they will have access more than just your email.
  4. The Internet Privacy setting ( Tools>Internet Options>Privacy ) should be at Medium or higher.

Even if you are on your personal computer, think of everyone who could have access to it (colleagues and roommates included).

Published in FAQ - Infrastructure