Clinically, the Department is divided into seven divisions based on anesthesiology subspecialty. These include the Division of Multispecialty Anesthesia, the Division of Cardiothoracic Anesthesia, the Division of Critical Care and Perioperative Medicine, the Division of Pain Medicine in Anesthesiology, the Division of Community Anesthesia, and the Division of Molecular and Translational Biomedicine.

The anesthetizing sites include operating and procedure room locations within the Birmingham Veterans Administration Medical Center, Callahan Eye Foundation Hospital, The Kirklin Clinic, University Hospital, and UAB Highlands Hospital.