The History Section of the Department of Anesthesiology was created in June 2002 with the following missions:

  • To expose anesthesiology residents, fellows, faculty, medical students and the general public to the historical developments behind the progress of anesthesiology as a specialty;
  • To enable our residents, fellows, and faculty to participate in more advanced studies concerning anesthesia history; and
  • To develop ties with scholars in historical research at UAB and elsewhere.

The section was the first such academic unit in the world.

On May 20, 2005, the section was officially named the David Hill Chestnut, M.D., Section on the History of Anesthesia to honor his support of anesthesia history activities during his 11 years as chair and to recognize his important role in the creation of the section.

The following individuals are affiliated with the History Section:

Maurice Albin, M.D., Professor

J. Antonio Aldrete, M.D. Professor Emeritus

 Jerald T. Clanton, D.M.D., M.D., (retired)

 Ray J. Defalque, M.D., Professor Emeritus (1932–2011)

A remembrance of Dr. Defalque can be found in the April 2011 issue of the Bulletin of Anesthesia History.

 William Lell, M.D., Professor Emeritus

 Mark Mandabach, M.D., Assistant Professor

Jason McKeown, M.D., Assistant Professor

Activities of the Section 2002–2006

Chronological History of Our Department

For more information about the History Section, contact:

A.J. Wright, M.L.S.

Associate Professor and Director

History of Anesthesia Section

Department of Anesthesiology

University of Alabama at Birmingham

619 So. 19th Street, JT 965

Birmingham, AL 35249-6810

(205) 975-0158

(205) 975-5963 (fax)