Tony Jones sqcr

Chair, UAB Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine
Professor and Alfred Habeeb Endowed Chair

Division: Multispecialty Anesthesia

Clinical Interests:  neuroanesthesia; liver transplantation

Contact or 205-934-6007; or contact Sue Burgin ( or Cindy Louderback (

Education and Training

  • University of Alabama School of Medicine, Medical Doctor, 1986
  • Mayo Graduate School of Medicine, Anesthesiology Residency, 1990
  • Mayo Graduate School of Medicine, Subspecialty Training in Neuroanesthesia, 1990
  • Mayo Graduate School of Medicine, National Institutes of Health Research Fellowship, 1990         

Awards and Honors 

  • Alpha Phi Alpha Scholastic Achievement Award
  • Chemistry Honors Program, University of Alabama 
  • Midwest Anesthesia Residents Conference Award for Basic Science

Professional Societies

  • Morton Society
  • Alabama State Society of Anesthesiology
  • American Medical Association
  • American Society of Anesthesiologists
  • American Society of Anesthesiologists Subcommittee on Anesthetic Action and Biochemistry
  • Board of Trustees of the International Anesthesia Research Society
  • Minnesota Society of Anesthesiologists
  • Biophysical Society
  • American Physiological Society
  • Association of University Anesthesiologists


Selected Publications 

For the most recent list of publications, please see PubMed.