Research carried out by Beatriz Hanaoka, MD (Division of Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology) and Prabhakara Nagareddy, Ph.D. (Department of Nutrition Sciences) identifies novel possible therapies for patients with rheumatoid arthritis and potential for cardiovascular disease. Read more

S. Louis Bridges, Jr, MD, PhD, Anna Lois Waters Endowed Chair of the UAB Division of Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology, named vice president of the Rheumatology Research Foundation. Read more

The  2017 CAMBAC Research Day
Friday, December 1, 2017

Led by Kenneth Saag, MD, Phase two of clinical gout trial begins at UAB. For details click here

UAB-led study shows drug effectiveness in reducing glucocorticoid-induced bone loss. Click here for more

UAB expert highlights need to do more trials in the epidemic center of disease. Read more here

Frances Lund, PhD, UAB immunology leader, spoke at Vatican City international conference. Click here for details

Archived News Stories

Established as the Rheumatology and Clinical Immunology Research Award in 1978 with a gift from Dr. and Mrs. Holley, this honor was renamed The Howard and Martha Holley Research Prize in Rheumatology in 1988. This prize is given to recognize outstanding investigators for their clinical or basic research in clinical immunology and rheumatology.


Selected Recipients of
The Howard and Martha Holley
Research Prize in Rheumatology


Frank C. Arnett, MD
John B. Harley, MD
Bevra H. Hahn, MD

Joel D. Taurog, MD

Nancy Oppenheimer-Marks, PhD
John B. Lowe, MD

Allen C. Steere, MD

John R. Couchman, PhD
A Robin Poole, PhD

Professor Wolfgang Gross


2015 Recipient of The Howard and Martha Holley Research Prize in Rheumatology


Richard Pope received an M.D. from the Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine in Chicago, where he was named to Alpha Omega Alpha. He served as an intern and resident at Michael Reese Medical Center, then completed a rheumatology fellowship at the University of Washington at Seattle under the supervision of Mart Mannik. In 1985, Dr. Pope joined Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine, where he has served as the Mable Greene Myers Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Division of Rheumatology since 1989. He is Director of the KL2 program of the Northwestern Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute/CTSA. He directs the T32 training grant in Rheumatology Research, and is Associate Director of the NIH-funded Northwestern Multidisciplinary Clinical Research Center in Rheumatology (MCRC), which he led for 25 years. He has served as a co-editor of Arthritis & Rheumatology and as Chair of the NIH Arthritis, Connective Tissue, and Skin study section. He is a member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation and the American Association of Physicians. He has published seminal work on the pathophysiology of rheumatoid arthritis, including the role of Toll-Like Receptors signaling. He has published 150 original articles has had NIH research funding throughout his career, most recently serving as PI on an NIH UM2 grant to form the RhEumatoid Arthritis SynOvial tissue Network (REASON) Network to creating a new generation of rheumatologists to perform ultrasound guided biopsies critical to obtaining synovial tissue from patients for translational studies to identify novel pathways and potential biomarkers in rheumatoid arthritis.



History of the Howard and Martha Holley Research Prize in Rheumatology and Presentation to Richard M. Pope, MD

S. Louis Bridges, Jr., MD, PhD
Anna Lois Waters Professor of Medicine
Director, UAB Division of Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology

Rheumatoid Arthritis: Genes and Environment Conspire and there is a Toll

Richard M. Pope, MD


Please click here for a flyer with details about Dr. Pope's lecture