Research carried out by Beatriz Hanaoka, MD (Division of Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology) and Prabhakara Nagareddy, Ph.D. (Department of Nutrition Sciences) identifies novel possible therapies for patients with rheumatoid arthritis and potential for cardiovascular disease. Read more

S. Louis Bridges, Jr, MD, PhD, Anna Lois Waters Endowed Chair of the UAB Division of Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology, named vice president of the Rheumatology Research Foundation. Read more

The  2017 CAMBAC Research Day
Friday, December 1, 2017

Led by Kenneth Saag, MD, Phase two of clinical gout trial begins at UAB. For details click here

UAB-led study shows drug effectiveness in reducing glucocorticoid-induced bone loss. Click here for more

UAB expert highlights need to do more trials in the epidemic center of disease. Read more here

Frances Lund, PhD, UAB immunology leader, spoke at Vatican City international conference. Click here for details

Archived News Stories


Awardees 2015

Graduate Students

$250 Prize Winner: Preeyam Patel (far right)
School of Medicine, Department of Microbiology
Neonatal Exposure to Microbial Phosphorylcholine Modulates the Development of House Dust Mite Allergy During Adult Life
Mentor: John Kearney, PhD

$125 Prize Winner: Yun Lu (center)
School of Medicine, Department of Pathology
Cbfβ cartilage-deficient mice develop spontaneous osteoarthritis and Cbfβ overexpression prevents Osteoarthritis
Mentor: Yi-Ping Li, PhD-

$125 Prize Winner: Maria Kuzynski (second from right)
School of Dentistry, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery,
Trps1 Affects Signaling and Expression of Mineralization Genes in Response to Phosphate
Mentor: Dobrawa Napierala, PhD


Postdoctoral Fellows

$250 Prize winner: : Mohammed Khass, PhD (second from left)
Department of Medicine, Division of Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology
The preB cell receptor checkpoint selects for specific amino acids in CDR-H3
Mentor: Harry W. Schroeder, Jr., MD, PhD


Junior Faculty

$250 Prize Winner: Mohammad Hassan, PhD (far left)
Assistant Professor, School of Dentistry, Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, MicroRNA-665 Regulates Dentinogenesis through MicroRNA-Mediated Silencing and Epigenetic Mechanisms