Lisa Willett, MD with Anezi Uzendu, MDLisa Willett, MD with Anezi Uzendu, MD

When third-year resident Anezi Uzendu, MD, suffered cardiac arrest in November, everyone in the residency program rallied around him like family. View the amazing story of his care and recovery on UAB News.



More Good News for June 28, 2017

B-Metro Recognizes Top Women in Medicine

Twenty-two of our phenomenal female physicians were honored in the 2017 B-Metro “Top Women in Medicine” list. Congratulations on this terrific recognition!


  1.  Amy Warriner, MD, Endocrinology & Metabolism
  2. Ashita J. Tolwani, MD, Nephrology
  3. Ashley C. Nichols, MD, Hospice & Palliative Medicine
  4. Caroline N. Harada, MD, Geriatric Medicine
  5. Ella Bowman, MD, Geriatric Medicine
  6. Erin D. Snyder, MD, Internal Medicine
  7. Heather L. Herrington, MD, Hospice & Palliative Medicine
  8. Katherine G. Romp, MD, Internal Medicine
  9. Kellie L. Flood, MD, Geriatric Medicine
  10. Lisa L. Willett, MD, Internal Medicine
  11. Marianthe D. Grammas, MD, Geriatric Medicine
  12. Mary M. Balkovetz, MD, Internal Medicine
  13. Mollie deShazo, MD, Hematology Oncology
  14. Patricia E. Patterson, MD, Pulmonology
  15. Patricia Goode, MD, Geriatric Medicine
  16. Rita D. Paschal, MD, Hematology Oncology
  17. Roslyn J. Mannon, MD, Nephrology
  18. Samina Uddin, MD, Geriatric Medicine
  19. Susan M. Harding, MD, Sleep Disorders
  20. Suzanne Oparil, MD, Cardiology
  21. Vera A. Bittner, MD, Cardiology
  22. Vineeta Kumar, MD, Nephrology

Bhatt Earns Innovation Award

Surya Bhatt, MD (Assistant Professor, Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine) has received the 2017 American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehabilitation’s Dr. Linda K. Hall Innovation Award for his project, “COPD Get With It Program: Telehealth Intervention to Reduce Hospital Readmissions.” The award acknowledges a program that has enhanced patient care in a unique and creative way.


 Dell’Italia Publishes Viewpoint on VA Research

Lou Dell’Italia, MD (Professor, Cardiovascular Disease) was recently published in Circulation Research. His article, “Impact of VA Research on Health Care for All: Contributions Over Nine Decades and Counting” offers a snapshot of the past, present, and future of VA Research.


2017 Gastroenterology & Hepatology Update

The UAB Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology will host a CME conference at the Wynfrey Hotel on September 8-9, 2017. Visit for information and registration.


New SOM Learning Community Named for Oparil

UAB School of Medicine Learning Communities led by Caroline Harada, MD (Assistant Professor, Gerontology, Geriatrics, and Palliative Care) have renamed six of the LCs for prominent figures in the school. The Resuehr community has been renamed the Oparil community after Suzanne Oparil, MD (Professor, Cardiovascular Disease) for her work in hypertension. Three other LCs had already been named for Department of Medicine greats, Tinsley Harrison, MD; Basil Hirschowitz, MD, and James Pittman, MD.


Next Week at MGR - No Lecture!

Medical Grand Rounds is taking a summer break! See you in September!


P.S. Good News will not be published next week. Enjoy your Independence Day and some of these little-known fun facts about America.


View this week's slides.