Governor Ivey Visits UAB Comprehensive Cancer CenterL to R: CCC Director Michael Birrer, MD; UABHS CEO Will Ferniany, PhD; Gov. Ivey; President Ray Watts, MD; SOM Dean Selwyn Vickers, MDAlabama Governor Kay Ivey visited campus and met our new UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center Director Michael Birrer, MD, PhD (Professor, Hematology and Oncology) an expert in the early detection and treatment of gynecologic cancers who came to UAB from Massachusetts General Hospital in August 2017. Together with UAB and UAB Medicine leaders, Governor Ivey toured the Center and Advanced Imaging Facility, which houses the cyclotron and other state of the art equipment.

More Good News for September 6, 2017

Three Department Chairs will join the SOM Dean, Chief Executive Officer, Chief Physician Executive, and University President to form the new Joint Operating Leadership Committee: Cheri Cannon, MD (Radiology) Herb Chen, MD (Surgery) and Seth Landefeld, MD (Medicine). They will serve three-, two-, and one-year terms respectively. The Committee will serve as the senior administrative group for UAB Medicine, overseeing the Operating Committees, annual budgeting and performance management, and strategic planning.

James Willig, MD, MSPH (Associate Professor, Infectious Diseases) has received the 2017 Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award for his outstanding compassion and respect for his patients and their families. As this year’s awardee, he will deliver the White Coat address to the incoming medical class in 2018.

Two DOM faculty have been featured in The New York Times Magazine for solving a “medical mystery” at the VA. The article describes how Gustavo Heudebert, MD, MACP (Interim Dean, Montgomery Regional Medical Campus) and Angelo Gaffo, MD, MSPH (Professor, Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology) persisted in discovering the cause of a patient’s sudden onset gout. Hint: It was something the patient drank more than 35 years prior.

As the DOM continues to lead the transition to OnCore, the new clinical trials management software for the University, we have identified 18 “super users” to begin building infrastructure to house the data from approximately 100 clinical trials. We are proud of their hard work to implement this new system, and we celebrate their team spirit.

  • Thyrza Johnson-Pulmonary
  • Stephanie Biggers-Rheumatology
  • Pamela Cunningham-ID
  • Mary Dougherty-Bergeron-ID
  • Lou Ann Faulkner-ID
  • Tomeka Wilson-ID
  • Jena Reeves-Rheumatology
  • Steven Marchman-Rheumatology
  • Rachel McMullen-ID
  • Stephanie Ledbetter-Rheumatology
  • Leigh Powell-CVD
  • Patrick Frazier-CVD
  • Lisa Williams-GI
  • Rakesha Garner-GI
  • Tiffany Grimes-Endocrinology
  • Kentress Davison-Endocrinology
  • Aras Acemgil-Preventive Medicine
  • Michelle East-Preventive Medicine

The UAB National Alumni Society has selected two UAB Medicine “Rising Stars” to receive Inaugural Young Alumni awards. Anand Ayer, MD (Instructor, Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care) and Erin Yarbrough (Sr. Director, Hospitalist Service, GME, and Provider Contracts) will be recognized on September 19 for their ability to excel personally and professionally while committing time and energy in serve to the university and local community.  

The UAB Blazers returned to Legion Field after a two-year hiatus on Saturday. They were greeted by crowd of 45,212, the largest in program history. The Blazers defeated the Alabama A&M Bulldogs 38 to 7.

View this week's slides.