2015-2016 Examination Dates

  • Examination dates are tentative and subject to change.  Additional examinations may be scheduled.  Other items (e.g., quizzes, take-home examinations, other assessments or graded instructional activities) may take place within each course/clerkship and may not be listed on this page.  Refer to  course/clerkship schedules, syllabus, and websites for the most up-to-date information.
  • All NBME Exams will be held in the VH G077 Computer Lab.  All other exams will be held on ExamSoft in either the VH G077 Computer Lab (workstations); Lecture Room A/E (on student laptops); or the VH G089 Gross Anatomy Lab.  You will be advised as to the testing location and your assigned testing time.
  • Clerkship examinations will be administered on each campus via the NBME testing system (Birmingham, Huntsville, Montgomery, and Tuscaloosa).

Year 1 Exam Dates

Year 1 Examinations

ICM-1:
Fall
ICM-1 Exam 1: 8am Tuesday, September 1, to 8am Friday, September 4, 2015 - VH G077
ICM-1 Exam 2: 8am Tuesday, October 27, to 8am Friday, October 30, 2015 - VH G077
ICM-1 OSCE 1: Monday, November 16, to Wednesday, November 18, 2015 - 5-9pm each day
ICM-1 Exam 3: 8am Tuesday, December 8, to 8am Friday, December 11, 2015 - VH G077

Spring
ICM-1 Exam 4: 8am Tuesday, January 26, to 8am Friday, January 29, 2016 - VH G077
ICM-1 Exam 5: 8am Tuesday, March 1, to 8am Friday, March 4, 2016 - VH G077
ICM-1 Exam 6: 8am Tuesday, April 12, to 8am Friday, April 15, 2016 - VH G077
ICM-1 Exam 7: 8am Tuesday, May 17, to 8am Friday, May 20, 2016 - VH G077
ICM-1 OSCE 2: Monday, May 23, to Wednesday, May 25, 2016 - 5-9pm each day

Patient, Doctor, & Society:
Exam 1: Friday, August 14, 2015 - VH G077

Fundamentals:
EXAM DATES TBA & Subject to Change!  More details to be posted soon.


Cardiovascular:
Exam 1: Tuesday, January 19, 2016 (NBME) - VH G077
Practice Structured White Space Exam: Thursday, January 28, 2016 - Lecture Room E
Graded Structured White Space Exam: Monday, February 1, 2016 - Lecture Room E
Exam 2: Friday, February 5, 2016 - VH G077
ARS quizzes (tentative): January 11, January 25, February 2 - Lecture Room E

Pulmonary:
Exam 1: Monday, February 22, 2016 - VH G077
Exam 2: Friday, March 11, 2016 (NBME) - VH G077

Gastrointestinal:
Exam 1: Monday, April 4, 2016 - VH G077
Exam 2: Friday, April 29, 2016 (NBME) - VH G077

Renal:
Anatomy Quiz: Tuesday, May 3, 2016 - VH G077
Exam 1: Friday, May 13, 2016 - VH G077
Exam 2: Friday, June 3, 2016 (NBME) - VH G077


Year 2 Exam Dates

Year 2 Examinations

PCL 2250 Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) required MS2 longitudinal curriculum:
Schedule: 
Last Revised:  
EBM Website:  http://medicine.uabebm.com (register using full name - details at EBM Orientation on August 24)

EBM Orientation In-Class Meeting
Monday, August 24, 2015, 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm - Lecture Room E - ALL STUDENTS.
Attendance is required. This is a mandatory session.  Course, Expectations, and Site Registration Details.

EBM Online Modules #1-7 with Quizzes:
EBM quizzes on the testing system will be available the last week of each EBM module listed below & may be taken from on- or off-campus.

#1 - Introduction to EBM: Monday, August 24, 2015 to Friday, August 28, 2015 (during Musculoskeletal & Skin Module). There is no quiz for EBM module 1.

#2 - Diagnosis: Monday, August 31, 2015 to Friday, September 18, 2015 (during Musculoskeletal & Skin Module). Online EBM module 2 quiz will be available the last week from 8am Monday, September 14, to 8am Friday, September 18.

#3 - Prognosis: Monday, September 28, 2015 to Friday, October 16, 2015 (during Neurosciences Module). Online EBM module 3 quiz will be available the last week from 8am Monday, October 12, to 8am Friday, October 16.

MS2 FALL BREAK: Saturday, October 17, to Sunday, October 25, 2015

#4 - Therapy: Monday, October 26, 2015 to Friday, November 13, 2015 (during Neurosciences Module). Online EBM module 4 quiz will be available the last week from 8am Monday, November 9, to 8am Friday, November 13.

#5 - Harm: Monday, November 16, 2015 to Friday, December 4, 2015 (during Neurosciences Module). Online EBM module 5 quiz will be available the last week from 8am Monday, November 30, to 8am Friday, December 4.

MS2 WINTER BREAK: Saturday, December 19, 2015, to Sunday, January 3, 2016

#6 - Systematic Reviews: Monday, January 4, 2016 to Friday, January 22, 2016 (during Hematology Module). Online EBM module 6 quiz will be available the last week from 8am Tuesday, January 19, to 8am Friday, January 22.

#7 - Screening: Monday, January 25, 2016 to Friday, February 12, 2016 (during Endocrine Module). Online EBM module 7 quiz will be available the last week from 8am Monday, February 8, to 8am Friday, February 12.

EBM Final Examination: Computerized exam in the VH G077 Computer Lab during assigned shifts.
Monday, February 15, 2016, ~1:00 pm - 5:15 pm - VH G077 Computer Lab, as assigned


ICM-2:
Fall
ICM-2 Exam 1: 8am Tuesday, September 29, to 8am Friday, October 2, 2015 - VH G077
ICM-2 OSCE 1: Monday, October 26, to Wednesday, October 28, 2015 - 5-9pm each day
ICM-2 Exam 2: 8am Tuesday, December 1, to 8am Friday, December 4, 2015 - VH G077

Spring
ICM-2 Exam 3: 8am Tuesday, February 2, to 8am Friday, February 5, 2016 - VH G077
ICM-2 OSCE 2: Monday, February 29, to Wednesday, March 2, 2016 - 5-9pm each day
ICM-2 NBME Exam: Monday, March 14, 2016, 1:00 pm - 5:15 pm - VH G077

Musculoskeletal and Skin:
Anatomy Practical 1: Wednesday, August 26, 2015 - VH G089 Gross Anatomy Lab
Exam 1: Friday, August 28, 2015 - VH G077
Anatomy Practical 2: Wednesday, September 9, 2015 - VH G089 Gross Anatomy Lab
Exam 2: Friday, September 11, 2015 (IDT 1:30 - 4:00 pm) - VH G077 - students assigned to exam shifts that do not conflict with half the class assigned to the 1:30 pm - 4:00 pm ICM Interdisciplinary Team Training on same day.
Exam 3: Friday, September 25, 2015 (NBME) - VH G077

PLUS Mandatory Clinics:
Myopathies Clinic: Tuesday, August 25, 2015 - VH Lecture Room A
Rheumatology Clinic: Wednesday, September 16, 2015 - VH 402, 405, 406, 411, 413, 414, 415, 416, 417
Dermatology Clinic: Tuesday, September 22, 2015 - VH 402, 405, 411, 415, 416, 417, 502, 505

Neurosciences:
Exam: Cumulative final exam - Friday, December 11, 2015 (NBME) - VH G077
Other assessments during course TBA

Hematology-Oncology:
Exam 1: Wednesday, January 13, 2016 (NBME) - VH G077
Exam 2: Friday, January 29, 2016 - Lecture Room A (student laptops required)

Endocrine: Tentative
Exam 1: Wednesday, February 10, or Thursday, February 11, 2016 - VH G077
Exam 2: Wednesday, February 24, or Thursday, February 25, 2016 (NBME) - VH G077

Reproductive:
Exam 1: Wednesday, March 9, 2016 - VH G077
Exam 2: Friday, March 18, 2016 (NBME) - VH G077

Year 3 Exam Dates

Year 3 Examinations

During Block "a," only 4-week clerkships administer NBME exams (Neurology, Psychiatry, Family Medicine): 

July 24, 2015
September 18, 2015
November 20, 2015
January 29, 2016
March 25, 2016
May 27, 2016

During Block "b," all clerkships administer NBME exams (Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, Surgery, OB-Gyn, Neurology, Psychiatry, Family Medicine):

August 21, 2015
October 16, 2015
December 18, 2015
February 26, 2016
April 22, 2016
June 24, 2016


The times below are those specifically for the Birmingham campus testing facility (VH G077 computer lab).  The regional campuses may determine what times work best at their facilities and announce the testing schedule to students on those campus clerkships.

July 24, 2015
8:00am-11:00am
Family Medicine
Neurology
Psychiatry

August 21, 2015
8:00am-11:00am
Pediatrics
Family Medicine
Neurology
Psychiatry
11:30am-2:30pm
Medicine
Ob/Gyn
Surgery

September 18, 2015
8:00am-11:00am
Family Medicine
Neurology
Psychiatry

October 16, 2015
8:00am-11:00am
Pediatrics
Family Medicine
Neurology
Psychiatry
11:30am-2:30pm
Medicine
Ob/Gyn
Surgery

November 20, 2015
8:00am-11:00am
Family Medicine
Neurology
Psychiatry

December 18, 2015
8:00am-11:00am
Pediatrics
Family Medicine
Neurology
Psychiatry
11:30am-2:30pm
Medicine
Ob/Gyn
Surgery

January 29, 2016
8:00am-11:00am
Family Medicine
Neurology
Psychiatry

February 26, 2016
8:00am-11:00am
Pediatrics
Family Medicine
Neurology
Psychiatry
11:30am-2:30pm
Medicine
Ob/Gyn
Surgery

March 25, 2016
8:00am-11:00am
Family Medicine
Neurology
Psychiatry

April 22, 2016
8:00am-11:00am
Pediatrics
Family Medicine
Neurology
Psychiatry
11:30am-2:30pm
Medicine
Ob/Gyn
Surgery

May 27, 2016
8:00am-11:00am
Family Medicine
Neurology
Psychiatry

June 24, 2016
8:00am-11:00am
Pediatrics
Family Medicine
Neurology
Psychiatry
11:30am-2:30pm
Medicine
Ob/Gyn
Surgery