Examination Dates

Please refer to the course/clerkship schedules and website for the most up-to-date information regarding examination dates and instructional activities.  

As of July 7, 2014, a comprehensive listing of most course/clerkship examinations for the 2014-2015 academic year is available to you below, with the following cautions:

  • Examination dates are tentative and subject to change.
  • Additional examinations may be scheduled, as necessary, other than the dates noted below.
  • Other items (such as quizzes, take-home examinations, other assessments and graded instructional activities) may take place within each course/clerkship and may not be listed on this page.  Refer to the respective course/clerkship schedule and syllabus.


Year 1 Exam Dates

All NBME Exams will be held in the VH G077 Computer Lab.  All other exams will be held on ExamSoft in either the VH G077 Computer Lab (workstations) or Lecture Room A/E (on student laptops), as assigned, or the VH G089 Gross Anatomy Lab.  

You will be advised before examinations and at the start of a course as to the testing location and your assigned testing time.



ICM-I:
Quizzes: Tues 8am-Fri 8am per ICM I schedule - VH G077: 
ICM Quiz 1: 8am Tuesday, September 2, to 8am Friday, September 5, 2014
ICM Quiz 2: 8am Tuesday, October 28, to 5pm Friday, October 31, 2014
ICM Quiz 3: 8am Tuesday, December 9, to 7am Friday, December 12, 2014 (rescheduled new time)

ICM-I OSCE(s):  Monday, November 10, to Wednesday, November 12, 2014 - 5-9pm each day

Patient, Doctor, & Society:
Exam 1: Friday, August 15, 2014 - VH G077

Fundamentals I:
Exam 1: Thursday, August 28, 2014 - VH G077
Exam 2: Tuesday, September 9, 2014 - VH G077
Exam 3: Thursday, September 25, 2014 - VH G077
Histology-Anatomy Practical:  Monday, October 6, 2014 - VH G077 and VH G089 Gross Anatomy Lab
Exam 4:  Monday, October 13, 2014 - VH G077
Exam 5:  Thursday, October 16, 2014 (NBME) - VH G077

Fundamentals II:
Exam 1: Friday, November 7, 2014 - VH G077
Exam 2: Monday, November 17, 2014 - VH G077 - UPDATED 08.22.14
Exam 3: Tuesday, November 25, 2014  - VH G077
Exam 4: Tuesday, December 9, 2014 - VH G077 - UPDATED 08.22.14
Exam 5: Tuesday, December 16, 2014 - VH G077
Exam 6: Thursday, December 18, 2014 (NBME) - VH G077

Cardiovascular:**
Exam 1: Tuesday, January 20, 2015 (NBME) - VH G077
Practice Structured White Space Exam: Thursday, January 29, 2015 - Lecture Room E
Graded Structured White Space Exam: Monday, February 2, 2015 - Lecture Room E 
Exam 2: Friday, February 6, 2015 - VH G077

**ARS quizzes (tentative):  January 12, January 26, February 3 - Lecture Room E

Pulmonary:
Exam 1:  Monday, February 23, 2015 - VH G077
Exam 2:  Friday, March 13, 2015 (NBME) - VH G077

Gastrointestinal:
Exam 1:  Monday, April 6, 2015 - VH G077
Exam 2:  Friday, May 1, 2015 (NBME) - VH G077

Renal:
Exam 1: Friday, May 15, 2015 - VH G077
Anatomy Quiz:  Tuesday, May 5, 2015 - TBA
Histology Quiz:  Wednesday, May 6, 2015 - VH G077
UTI Quiz:  Thursday, May 28, 2015 - TBA
Exam 2: Friday, June 5, 2015 (NBME) - VH G077

Year 2 Exam Dates

All NBME Exams will be held in the VH G077 Computer Lab.  All other exams will be held on ExamSoft in either the VH G077 Computer Lab (workstations) or Lecture Room A/E/B (on student laptops), as assigned, or the VH G089 Gross Anatomy Lab.  

You will be advised before examinations and at the start of a course as to the testing location and your assigned testing time.


PCL 2250 Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) required course: 
There are required assessments in the Evidence-Based Medicine longitudinal course during the second year.  Following completion of each EBM block, you must complete the associated assessment in the VH G077 computer lab during the designated testing period for that block.  Refer to the schedule for EBM blocks and assessment periods:  

Schedule:  EBM Schedule
Last Revised:  07.31.14

1 - Introduction to EBM & 2 - Diagnosis: 8am on Monday, September 29, to midnight on Sunday, October 5, 2014.

3 - Prognosis: 8am on Monday, November 3, to midnight on Sunday, November 9, 2014.

4 - Therapy: 8am on Monday, December 1, to midnight on Sunday, December 7, 2014.

5 - Harm: 8am on Monday, January 26, to midnight on Sunday, February 1, 2015.

6 - Systematic Review: 8am on Tuesday, February 24, to midnight on Sunday, March 1, 2015.

7 - Screening: 8am on Monday, March 16, to midnight on Sunday, March 22, 2015.

ICM-III (ICM 2):
Quizzes: Tues 8am-Fri 8am per ICM II schedule - VH G077:
ICM-III Quiz 1: 8am Tuesday, September 30 to 8am Friday, October 3, 2014
ICM-III Quiz 2: 8am Tuesday, December 2 to 8am Friday, December 5, 2014
ICM-III Quiz 3: 8am Tuesday, February 3 to 8am Friday, February 6 (NBME-type questions)
ICM-III Quiz 4: 8am Tuesday, March 17 to 8am Monday, March 23

ICM-III OSCE 1:  Monday, October 27, to Wednesday, October 29, 5-9pm each day
ICM-III OSCE 2:  Monday, March 2, to Wednesday, March 4, 5-9pm each day

Musculoskeletal and Skin:***
Anatomy Practical 1: Wednesday, August 27, 2014 - VH G089 Gross Anatomy Lab
Exam 1:  Friday, August 29, 2014 - VH G077
Anatomy Practical 2:  Wednesday, September 10, 2014 - VH G089 Gross Anatomy Lab
Exam 2:  Friday, September 12, 2014 (IDT 1-5pm) - VH G077
Exam 3:  Friday, September 26, 2014 (NBME) - VH G077

***Mandatory Clinics:
Myopathies Clinic:  Tuesday, August 26, 2014
Rheumatology Clinic:  Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Dermatology Clinic:  Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Neurosciences:
Exam *:  Single cumulative final exam - Friday, December 12, 2014 (NBME) - VH G077
*other assessments during course but not in lab

Hematology-Oncology:
Exam 1:  Wednesday, January 14, 2015 (NBME) - VH G077
Exam 2:  Friday, January 30, 2015 - TBA - Lecture Room A, B, or E (student laptops required)

Endocrine:
Exam 1:  Thursday, February 12, 2015 - VH G077
Exam 2:  Thursday, February 26, 2015 (NBME) - VH G077

Reproductive:
Exam 1: Wednesday, March 11, 2015 - VH G077
Exam 2: Friday, March 20, 2015 (NBME) - VH G077

Year 3 Exam Dates

Clerkship examinations will be administered on each campus (Birmingham, Huntsville, Montgomery, and Tuscaloosa) via the NBME testing system.

During Block "a," only 4-week clerkships administer NBME exams (Neurology, Psychiatry, Family Medicine): 

July 25, 2014
September 19, 2014
November 21, 2014
January 30, 2015
March 27, 2015
May 29, 2015

The times below are those specifically for the Birmingham campus testing facility (VH G077 computer lab).  The regional campuses may determine what times work best at their facilities.

12:15pm-4:30pm:

  • Family Medicine                
  • Neurology                          
  • Psychiatry                          


During Block "b," all clerkships administer NBME exams (Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, Surgery, OB-Gyn, Neurology, Psychiatry, Family Medicine):

August 22, 2014
October 17, 2014
December 19, 2014
February 27, 2015
April 24, 2015
June 26, 2015

The times below are those specifically for the Birmingham campus testing facility (VH G077 computer lab).  The regional campuses may determine what times work best at their facilities.

7:30am-11:45am:

  • Medicine                            
  • Ob/Gyn                               
  • Surgery


and 12:15pm-4:30pm:        

  • Pediatrics                           
  • Family Medicine                
  • Neurology                          
  • Psychiatry