First Year Schedule & Contacts

Module schedules are subject to change and may be updated at any time. Module dates are listed by the Monday the module starts through the Sunday end date for a given module, per the academic calendar. Please consult module schedules for the last day of classes for a given module. In many instances, the last day of classes for a given module is the Friday before the Sunday end date of that module.

Fall Modules


MS1 ORIENTATION

Dates: Orientation begins Monday, July 28.
Contact: Dr. Steve Smith, srsmith@uab.edu or Jason Noah, jnoah@uab.edu 


PCL 1130 - INTRODUCTION TO CLINICAL MEDICINE 1


Dates: ICM 1 extends throughout the entire first year curriculum from Monday, July 28, 2014 to Sunday, June 7, 2015 (Fall activities end on or before Friday, December 21.  Spring activities end on or before Friday, June 5). 

ICM Director: Dr. F. Stanford Massie, smassie@uab.edu
ICM Co-Director: Dr. Marjorie Lee White, mlwhite@uab.edu
ICM Co-Director: Dr. Caroline Harada, charada@uab.edu 
ICM Coordinator: Ms. Ann Lee, 934-4473, annlee@uab.edu
Schedule:  ICM 1
Schedule Last Revised: 08.05.14


PCL 1100 - PATIENT, DOCTOR, & SOCIETY AND ORIENTATION


Dates: Orientation begins Monday, July 28.  PDS begins Monday, August 4, through Sunday, August 17, 2014 (PDS classes end Friday, August 15)
Module Director: Dr. Thomas Huddle, thuddle@uab.edu
Module Coordinator: Ms. Carolyn Tuma, 934-4754, ctuma@uab.edu
Schedule:  PDS
Schedule Last Revised: 08.01.14v2


PCL 1110 - FUNDAMENTALS I


Dates: Monday, August 18, to Sunday, October 19, 2014 (classes end Friday, October 17)
Module Director: Dr. Laura Cotlin, lcotlin@uab.edu
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Nathaniel Robin, nrobin@uab.edu
Module Coordinator: Ms. Carolyn Tuma, 934-4754, ctuma@uab.edu
Schedule:  Fundamentals I
Schedule Last Revised: 08.15.14

*Labor Day: There will be no MS1 or MS2 classes on Monday, September 1, 2014.  UAB holiday.

*MS-1 and MS-2 Fall Break: Monday, October 20, to Sunday, October 26, 2014. The last day of MS1 and MS2 classes before Fall Break will be Friday, October 17, 2013, unless otherwise noted.


PCL 1120 - FUNDAMENTALS II


Dates: Monday, October 27, to Sunday, December 21, 2014 (classes end Friday, December 19)
Module Director: Dr. Peter Anderson, pga@uab.edu
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Ken Waites, waiteskb@uab.edu
Module Coordinator: Ms. Carolyn Tuma, 934-4754, ctuma@uab.edu
Schedule:  Fundamentals II
Schedule Last Revised: 10.22.14

*Medical Student Research Day: Tuesday, October 28, 2014.

*Thanksgiving Break: There will be no MS1 or MS2 classes on Thursday, November 27, and Friday, November 28, 2014.  UAB holiday.

*Winter Break: The last day of classes before Winter Break will be Friday, December 19, 2014. All classes will resume on Monday, January 5, 2015.

Winter/Spring Modules


PCL 1130 - INTRODUCTION TO CLINICAL MEDICINE 1 (continued)

Dates: Monday, January 5, to Sunday, June 7, 2015 (classes end Friday, June 5)
ICM Director: Dr. F. Stanford Massie, smassie@uab.edu
ICM Co-Director: Dr. Marjorie Lee White, mlwhite@uab.edu
ICM Co-Director: Dr. Caroline Harada, charada@uab.edu 
ICM Coordinator: Ms. Ann Lee, 934-4473, annlee@uab.edu
Schedule:  
Schedule Last Revised: 


PCL 1160 - CARDIOVASCULAR


Dates: Monday, January 5, to Sunday, February 8, 2015 (classes end Friday, February 6)
Module Director: Dr. Silvio Litovsky, slitovsk@uab.edu
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Harish Doppalapudi, harish@uab.edu
Module Coordinator: Ms. Carolyn Tuma, 934-4754, ctuma@uab.edu
Schedule: 
Schedule Last Revised: 

*Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Day: There will be no MS1 or MS2 classes on Monday, January 19, 2015.  UAB holiday.


PCL 1165 - PULMONARY


Dates: Monday, February 9, to Sunday, March 15, 2015 (classes end Friday, March 13)
Module Director: Dr. C. Bruce Alexander, cba@uab.edu
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Kevin Leon, kleon@uab.edu
Module Coordinator: Ms. Carolyn Tuma, 934-4754, ctuma@uab.edu
Schedule: 
Schedule Last Revised: 

*MS1 Spring Break: Saturday, March 16, 2015, to Sunday, March 22, 2015. The last day of MS1 classes before Spring Break will be Friday, March 13, 2015.


PCL 1175 - GASTROINTESTINAL


Dates: Monday, March 23, to Sunday, May 3, 2014 (classes end Friday, May 1)
Module Director: Dr. Cathy Fuller, cfuller@uab.edu
Clinical Co-Director: TBA
Module Coordinator: Ms. Carolyn Tuma, 934-4754, ctuma@uab.edu
Schedule:  
Schedule Last Revised: 


PCL 1170 - RENAL


Dates: Monday, May 5, to Sunday, June 8, 2014 (classes end Friday, June 6)
Module Director: Dr. Mark Bevensee, bevensee@uab.edu
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Vineeta Kumar, kumarv@uab.edu 
Module Coordinator: Ms. Carolyn Tuma, 934-4754, ctuma@uab.edu
Schedule:  Renal
Schedule Last Revised:

*Memorial Day: Monday, May 25, 2015.

*MS-1 Summer Break: Begins Monday, June 8, 2015.