Second Year Schedule & Contacts

Module schedules are subject to change and may be updated at any time. Module dates are listed by the Monday the module starts through the Sunday end date for a given module, per the academic calendar. Please consult module schedules for the last day of classes for a given module. In many instances, the last day of classes for a given module is the Friday before the Sunday end date of that module.

Fall Modules


SPECIAL TOPICS / BREAK
Three offerings available in the second year...
Dates: Monday, August 4, to Sunday, August 10, 2014 (late summer/before Musculoskeletal and Skin)
Dates: Monday, August 11, to Sunday, August 17, 2014 (late summer/before Musculoskeletal and Skin)
Dates: Monday, December 15, to Sunday, December 21, 2014 (after Neurosciences and MSK/before Winter Break)

Special Topics Coordinator: Mike Belue, 934-3872, mbelue@uab.edu 
See Course Catalog Offerings


PCL 1190 - INTRODUCTION TO CLINICAL MEDICINE-III


Dates: Monday, August 4, 2014,** to Sunday, March 22, 2015 (**NOTE: ICM III sessions for the 2014-2015 academic year will begin the first week of the Musculoskeletal and Skin Module the week of Monday, August 18, 2014. Classes will end on Friday, March 20, 2015.)

ICM Director: Dr. F. Stanford Massie, smassie@uab.edu 
ICM Co-Director: Dr. Marjorie Lee White, mlwhite@uab.edu
ICM Co-Director: Dr. Caroline Harada, charada@uab.edu 
Module Coordinator: Ms. Ann Lee, 934-4473, annlee@uab.edu 
Schedule:  ICM III
Schedule Last Revised: 08.12.14

*MS2 Interdisciplinary Team Training Activities (Required):

Fall Session: Friday, September 12, 2014, between 1:30 pm - 4:00 pm, half the class will be assigned to this date.

PCL 2250 - EVIDENCE-BASED MEDICINE (LONGITUDINAL FROM AUGUST THROUGH MARCH)

Dates: Monday, August 18, 2014 to Sunday, March 22, 2015
EBM Course Director: Dr. Terry Shaneyfelt, terrys@uab.edu 
Schedule:  EBM Schedule
Last Revised:  07.31.14

PCL 1180 - MUSCULOSKELETAL & SKIN


Dates: Monday, August 18, to Sunday, September 28, 2014 (classes end Friday, September 26)
Module Director: Dr. Alexander Szalai, alexszalai@uab.edu 
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. W. Winn Chatham, wchatham@uab.edu 
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Patricia Mercado, pmercado@uab.edu 
Module Coordinator: Ms. Sharon Noser, 934-5118, snoser@uab.edu 
Schedule:  MSK  
Schedule Last Revised: 08.28.14  

*Labor Day: There will be no MS1 or MS2 classes on Monday, September 1, 2014. UAB holiday.


PCL 2215 - NEUROSCIENCES


Dates: Monday, September 29, to Sunday, December 14, 2014 (classes end Friday, December 12)
Module Director: Dr. Robin Lester, nicotine@uab.edu 
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Anthony Nicholas, nicholas@uab.edu 
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Vinita Yalamanchili, vyalam@uab.edu 
Module Coordinator: Ms. Sharon Noser, 934-5118, snoser@uab.edu 
Schedule:  Neuro
Schedule Last Revised: 11.19.14

*MS1 and MS2 Fall Break: Monday, October 20, to Sunday, October 26, 2014. The last day of MS1 and MS2 classes before Fall Break will be Friday, October 17, 2014.

*Medical Student Research Day: Tuesday, October 28, 2014.

*MS2 NBME Preparation "Kick Off" with Dr. S. Smith, Academic Success Program: Monday, November 17, and Tuesday, November 18, from 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm

*Thanksgiving Break: There will be no MS1 or MS2 classes on Thursday, November 27, and Friday, November 28, 2014.  UAB holiday.

*Winter Break: The last day of classes before Winter Break will be Friday, December 19, 2014. All classes will resume on Monday, January 5, 2015.

Winter/Spring Modules



PCL 1190 - INTRODUCTION TO CLINICAL MEDICINE-III (continued)

Dates:  Monday, January 5, to Sunday, March 22, 2015 (Classes will end on Friday, March 20, 2015).

ICM Director: Dr. F. Stanford Massie, smassie@uab.edu
ICM Co-Director: Dr. Marjorie Lee White, mlwhite@uab.edu
ICM Co-Director: Dr. Caroline Harada, charada@uab.edu
Module Coordinator: Ms. Ann Lee, 934-4473, annlee@uab.edu
Schedule:
Schedule Last Revised:


PCL 2250 - EVIDENCE-BASED MEDICINE (LONGITUDINAL FROM AUGUST THROUGH MARCH) (continued)

Dates: Monday, August 18, 2014 to Sunday, March 22, 2015
EBM Course Director: Dr. Terry Shaneyfelt, terrys@uab.edu 
Schedule:  EBM Schedule
Last Revised:  07.31.14


PCL 2225 - HEMATOLOGY / ONCOLOGY


Dates: Monday, January 5, to Sunday, February 1, 2014 (classes end Friday, January 30)
Module Director: Dr. Vishnu Reddy, vreddy@uab.edu 
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Deniz Peker, dpeker@uab.edu 
Module Coordinator: Ms. Sharon Noser, 934-5118, snoser@uab.edu 
Schedule:  
Schedule Last Revised: 

*Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Day: There will be no MS1 or MS2 classes on Monday, January 19, 2015.  UAB holiday.


PCL 2235 - ENDOCRINE


Dates: Monday, February 2, to Sunday, March 1, 2015 (classes end on Friday, April 29)
Module Director: Dr. Shawn Galin, galin@uab.edu 
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Hussein Abdullatif, hlatif@uab.edu 
Module Coordinator: Ms. Sharon Noser, 934-5118, snoser@uab.edu 
Schedule:  
Schedule Last Revised: 

*MS2 Interdisciplinary Team Training Activities (Required):

Spring Session: Friday, February 13, 2015, between 1:30 pm - 4:00 pm, half of the class will be assigned to this date.


PCL 2245 - REPRODUCTIVE


Dates: Monday, March 2, to Sunday, March 22, 2015 (classes end Friday, March 20)
Module Co-Directors: Dr. Jennifer Gordetsky, jgordets@uab.edu, and Dr. Kelley Taylor Argenti, ktaylor1@uab.edu  
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Janet McLaren Bouknight, jmclaren@uab.edu 
Module Coordinator: Ms. Sharon Noser, 934-5118, snoser@uab.edu 
Schedule:  
Schedule Last Revised: 

*MS2 Step I Preparation Break (including Clinical Transition Campus Orientations, as specified by campus): Monday, March 23, to Sunday, May 3, 2015. The last day of MS2 classes in the pre-clerkship curriculum will be Friday, March 20, 2015.

Campus transition activities may occur during Step I Preparation, particularly the week of April 27, 2015 (the week prior to block 6).

*Memorial Day: Monday, May 25, 2015.  UAB holiday.