Second Year Schedule & Contacts

Module schedules are subject to change and may be updated at any time. Module dates are listed by the Monday the module starts through the Sunday end date for a given module, per the academic calendar. Please consult module schedules for the last day of classes for a given module. In many instances, the last day of classes for a given module is the Friday before the Sunday end date of that module.

Fall Modules


SPECIAL TOPICS / BREAK:
Dates:

Monday, August 3, to Sunday, August 9, 2015
Monday, August 10, to Sunday, August 16, 2015
Monday, December 14, to Sunday, December 20, 2015

Special Topics Coordinator: Mike Belue, 934-3872, mbelue@uab.edu 
See Course Catalog Offerings

PCL 1195 - INTRODUCTION TO CLINICAL MEDICINE-2:
(formerly ICM-III)

Dates: ICM2 extends throughout the second-year curriculum from Monday, August 3, 2015,** to Sunday, March 20, 2016
(**ICM-2 sessions begin the first week of the Musculoskeletal and Skin Module the week of Monday, August 17, 2015. Classes will end on Friday, March 18, 2016.)

ICM Director: Dr. F. Stanford Massie, smassie@uab.edu 
ICM Co-Director: TBA
Module Coordinator: Ms. Ann Lee, 934-4473, annlee@uab.edu 
ICM Program Director:  Ms. Anna Neklyudova, 975-6315, henkian@uab.edu 

Schedule:  
Schedule Last Revised: 

PCL 2250 - EVIDENCE-BASED MEDICINE:

Dates: EBM extends throughout the second-year curriculum from Monday, August 17, 2015, *** to Sunday, March 20, 2016
(***Mandatory EBM Orientation is on Monday, August 24, 2015)

Mandatory In-Class EBM Orientation:  
Monday, August 24, 2015, 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm in Volker Hall Lecture Room E
(All MS2s required to attend this session)

Online EBM materials:  http://medicine.uabebm.com 

EBM Course Director: Dr. Terry Shaneyfelt, terrys@uab.edu 

Schedule:  
Last Revised:  

PCL 1180 - MUSCULOSKELETAL & SKIN


Dates: Monday, August 17, to Sunday, September 27, 2015 (classes end Friday, September 25)

Module Director: Dr. Alexander Szalai, alexszalai@uab.edu 
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. W. Winn Chatham, wchatham@uab.edu 
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Patricia Mercado, pmercado@uab.edu 
Module Coordinator: Ms. Sharon Noser, 934-5118, snoser@uab.edu 

Schedule:   
Schedule Last Revised:  

PCL 2215 - NEUROSCIENCES


Dates: Monday, September 28, to Sunday, December 13, 2015 (classes end Friday, December 11)

Module Director: Dr. Robin Lester, nicotine@uab.edu 
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Michael Lyerly, mjlyerly@uab.edu 
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Victor Sung, vsung@uab.edu 
Module Coordinator: Ms. Sharon Noser, 934-5118, snoser@uab.edu 

Schedule:  
Schedule Last Revised: 




Winter/Spring Modules


PCL 1195 - INTRODUCTION TO CLINICAL MEDICINE-2: (continued) (formerly ICM-III)

Dates: ICM-2 extends through the second-year curriculum from Monday, August 3, 2015,** to Sunday, March 20, 2016 (**ICM-2 sessions in the winter term begin the first week of the Cardiovascular Module the week of Monday, January 3, 2016. Classes will end on Friday, March 18, 2016.)

ICM Director: Dr. F. Stanford Massie, smassie@uab.edu 
ICM Co-Director: TBA
Module Coordinator: Ms. Ann Lee, 934-4473, annlee@uab.edu 
ICM Program Director:  Ms. Anna Neklyudova, 975-6315, henkian@uab.edu

Schedule:  
Schedule Last Revised:

PCL 2250 - EVIDENCE-BASED MEDICINE:
(continued) 

Dates: EBM extends through the second-year curriculum from Monday, August 17, 2015, *** to Sunday, March 20, 2016 (***Mandatory EBM Orientation was on Monday, August 24, 2015)

Online EBM materials:  http://medicine.uabebm.com 

EBM Course Director: Dr. Terry Shaneyfelt, terrys@uab.edu 

Schedule:  
Last Revised:

PCL 2225 - HEMATOLOGY / ONCOLOGY:


Dates: Monday, January 4, to Sunday, January 31, 2016 (classes end Friday, January 29)

Module Director: Dr. Vishnu Reddy, vreddy@uab.edu 
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Deniz Peker, dpeker@uab.edu 
Module Coordinator: Ms. Sharon Noser, 934-5118, snoser@uab.edu 

Schedule:  
Schedule Last Revised: 

PCL 2235 - ENDOCRINE:


Dates: TENTATIVE:  Monday, February 1, to TBD / Sunday, February 28, 2016 (classes end TBA the week of February 22)

Module Director: Dr. Shawn Galin, galin@uab.edu 
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Hussein Abdullatif, hlatif@uab.edu 
Module Coordinator: Ms. Sharon Noser, 934-5118, snoser@uab.edu 

Schedule:
Schedule Last Revised: 

PCL 2245 - REPRODUCTIVE:


Dates: TENTATIVE: TBD / Monday, February 29, to Sunday, March 20, 2016 (classes begin TBA the week of February 22 or February 29; classes end Friday, March 20)

Module Co-Directors: Dr. Jennifer Gordetsky, jgordets@uab.edu
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Janet McLaren Bouknight, jmclaren@uab.edu 
Module Coordinator: Ms. Sharon Noser, 934-5118, snoser@uab.edu 

Schedule:
Schedule Last Revised: