Huntsville Faculty

Robert Centor, M.D.
Associate Dean, Huntsville Campus 
Phone: (256) 539-7757 Fax: (256) 551-4451 
Email: rcentor@uab.edu

Paula Cothren, B.A. 
Director of Academic Programs 
Corporate Compliance Officer
Phone: (256) 551-4455 Fax: (256) 551-4451 
Email: pdc@uab.edu 

Lanita Carter, Ph.D. 
Director of Medical Education and Student Services
Phone: (256) 551-4465 Fax: (256) 551-4456 
Email: lscarter@uab.edu

Family Medicine

Ralph Samlowski, M.D.
Clerkship Director
Phone: (256) 551-4630 Fax: (256) 551-4612
Email: samlowskir@uasomh.uab.edu



Rural Medicine

Melissa Behringer, M.D. 
Clerkship Director
Phone: (256) 551-4630 Fax: (256) 551-4612 
Email: behringerm@uasomh.uab.edu



Family Medicine Residency Program

Mary Margaret Crestani, M.D.
Director 
Phone: (256) 551-4632 Fax: (256) 551-4633 
Email: crestanim@uasomh.uab.edu



Internal Medicine

Parekha Yedla, M.D.
Clerkship Director of Internal Medicine 
Phone: (256) 551-4611 Fax: (256) 551-4619 
Email: yedlap@uasomh.uab.edu



Neurology

A. Alapati, M.D.
Clerkship Director of Neurology
Phone: (256) 265-2695Fax: (256) 265-6386 
Email: aalapati2000@yahoo.com



Obstetrics & Gynecology

Amy Takacs, M.D.
Clerkship Director of Ob/Gyn
Phone: (256) 551-4480 Fax: (256) 551-4451 
Email: takacsa@uasomh.uab.edu



Pediatrics

Steffane Battle, M.D.
Clerkship Director of Pediatrics 
Phone: (256) 551-4600 Fax: (256) 551-4453 
Email: battles@uasomh.uab.edu



Psychiatry

Tarak Vasavada, M.D. 
Clerkship & Division Director of Psychiatry 
Phone: (256) 551-4461 Fax: (256) 551-4404 
Email: vasavadat@uasomh.uab.edu



Surgery

Rony Najjar, M.D.
Clerkship & Division Director of Surgery 
Phone: (256) 564-8161 Fax: (256) 518-8278 
Email: gilesc@uasomh.uab.edu



Medical Education and Student Services

Lanita Carter, Ph.D. 
Director of Medical Education and Student Services
Phone: (256) 551-4465 Fax: (256) 551-4456 
Email: lscarter@uab.edu



Medical Library

Lee Clemans-Taylor, M.L.S.
Director of the J. Ellis Sparks, M.D. Medical Library
Phone: (256) 551-4405 Fax: (256) 534-9664
Email: blct@uab.edu