Chaplin 2013
In spring 2013, David Chaplin, M.D., Ph.D., was elected to a position on the UAB Faculty Senate. The Faculty Senate provides a voice for UAB’s faculty in addressing a variety of matters that affect the University. Faculty representatives from all academic units make up the Senate.

jennifer rowland
Jennifer Rowland

Last summer, Jennifer Rowland was one of two UAB students who completed a prestigious research internship at the new KwaZulu-Natal Research Institute for Tuberculosis and HIV (K-RITH), in Durban, South Africa.

Role Recognition

Dr. John F. Kearney discusses B cells and their significance in modern immunology.


Microbiology Research Retreat
October 17-18, 2014

Highlights from the 22nd Annual, Department of Microbiology Research Retreat, held October 18-20th, 2013 at the Alabama 4H Center in Columbiana, AL. 

Recruiting Excellence - Two New Faculty Arrive with the Snow

UAB rolls out the white carpet for Dr. Mengxi Jiang and Dr. Amy Weinmann who joined the department in January and February respectively.


The University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) is ranked among the top 100 universities in the world for life sciences and top 150 for medicine, according to Academic Ranking of World Universities.

39 primary faculty and more than $15.8 million in active NIH grant support, the Department of Microbiology is dedicated to excellence in research, teaching and training.