Nearly 100 researchers attended the 5th Southeastern Mycobacteria Meeting, held at UAB January 24-26, 2014. This regional meeting provided a platform to catalyze communication and collaboration between mycobacteria researchers and clinicians in the Southeast. Attendees included primary investigators, postdoctoral scholars, medical professionals, graduate and undergraduate students interested in basic biology, epidemiology or clinical aspects of mycobacteria and mycobacterial diseases. Speakers included: Lalita Ramakrishnan, University of Washington; Hardy Kornfeld, University of Massachusetts; Adrie Steyn, K-RITH; Alastair Leslie, K-RITH; Karen LaCourciere, NIH; Ed Khan, UAB; Gail Cassell, IDRI.

The 5th Southeastern Mycobacteria Meeting was supported by UAB Center for AIDS Research, UAB Microbiology Department, and Infectious Disease, Global Health and Vaccines Strategic Planning Initiative.

To read more about this meeting, go to “Mycobacteria meeting focuses on TB.”

For more about Mycobacterium tuberculosis, go to “UAB Reaches to Africa to Study TB;” “Drug-resistant TB underestimated, Cassell says;” and “Disrupting iron transport leads to cell death in tuberculosis bacterium.”
Bliss Chang.jpg.opt196x257o00s196x257Undergraduate student Bliss Chang, a Beckman Scholar working in Dr. Jamil Saad’s lab, will participate in the 18th Annual Posters on the Hill event on April 28-29, 2014. 

Chang’s poster is one of only 60 chosen from 600 entries. He will be the first from Alabama to present.

Posters on the Hill, sponsored by the Council on Undergraduate Research, Washington, D.C., is a part of the National Conference on Undergraduate Research. It provides an opportunity for members of Congress to understand the importance of undergraduate research by talking directly with the students and their mentors.

Chang and Saad hope to meet with many Congressional Representatives to tell them how important federal funding is to basic research and the development of future scientists.

Microbiology professor Janusz Kabarowski, Ph.D., and Miranda Collier, an undergraduate student who works in Kabarowski’s lab, are major contributors to the development of a research method that will aid in critical initiatives addressing a variety of diseases including cancer, chronic inflammatory autoimmune diseases and age-related degenerative diseases.

Read more about the matrix-assisted laser desorption/ionization imaging mass spectrometry—MALDI-IMS in the Tuesday, January 28, 2014, edition of the UAB Reporter.

Dec2013 Micro Graduates
                     December 14, 2013

Pulin Che
Robert Marsden Cox, Jr.
Christina Michelle Croney
Kristopher Ruben Genschmer
Kanupriya Gupta
David Samuel Jordan, Jr.
Kate Kosmac
Lauren M. Lilly
Michael R. Ludwig
Eva Szymanska Mroczek
Melissa Oliver
Amber Lynne Rowse
Kimberly A. Thomas
Melissa Marie Walker
photoCongratulations to Dr. David Briles, who was inducted into the National Academy of Inventors during the academy’s annual Conference March 6-7, 2014, in Alexandria, Virginia.  

Briles’ work on proteins that are candidate antigens for pneumococcal vaccines has led to several patents on pneumonia vaccines.

The National Academy of Inventors, founded in 2010, recognizes and encourages inventors with patents issued from the US Patent and Trademark Office. The organization is comprised of more than 3,000 members and fellows from more than 200 US and international universities, and governmental and non-profit research institutions.

Yother2013Congratulations to Dr. Janet Yother, the School of Medicine faculty nominee for the 2014 President’s Diversity Award for Excellence in Mentoring. Her nomination will be reviewed by the President’s Diversity Award Selection Committee, along with nominees from across the entire university. Award recipients will be announced at a public ceremony on January 30, 2014, at the UAB Alumni House.