Neurobiology News

NIH Lecture Series
Please join me in congratulating Brittney Coleman and Oluwagbegmiga Larinde on winning the UNCF Merck Undergraduate Science Scholarship! Solomon Gibson has also been designated an alternate for this award.

The UNCF Merck Science Scholarships provides up to $30,000 in financial support, mentoring, and the chance to intern at a Merck Facility over the summer. Approximately 15 awards are given each year to students throughout the nation. UAB students are disproportionately represented in this group – we've had 14 winners since 2008! The UAB Honors College's Science and Technology Honors Program is to be commended for establishing a pipeline of students who have been successful in this competition; this is the program's 4th year to field two or more winners!

Brittney is a biomedical engineering major and Sci-Tech Honors student who researches in the lab of Dr. Brian Sims in UAB's Department of Pediatrics. (Winner)

Oluwagbegmiga is a neuroscience major and Sci-Tech Honors student who researches in the lab of Dr. Kazutoshi Nakazawa in UAB's Department of Psychiatry. (Winner)

Solomon is a chemistry major and Global and Community Leadership Honors Program student who researches in the lab of Dr. Andrei Stanishevsky in UAB's Department of Physics. (Designated Alternate)

These honors students are outstanding examples of the synergistic collaboration between UAB's undergraduate programs and UAB Medicine. Thanks to all who have invested in their development as aspiring physician-scientists!

Ashley Floyd
Associate Director, UAB Honors College
Congratulations to all the winners at the 2015 Postdoctoral Research Day
Session 1
1st   Tonia Shwartz, Ph.D.
2nd  TaShauna Goldsby, Ph.D.
3rd   Any Goss, Ph.D.     
Session 4
1st   Dao H. Ho, Ph.D.
2nd  Samatha Giordano, Ph.D.
3rd   Vasundhara Kain, Ph.D.
Session 2
1st   Carmen De Minguel, Ph.D.
2nd  Ravindra Boddu, Ph.D.
3rd   Faraz A. Sultan, Ph.D.
Session 5    
1st   Shannon M. Kahan, Ph.D.
2nd  S. Rameeza Allie, Ph.D.
3rd   Venkata Yeramalli, Ph.D.   
Session 3
1st   Angela Bhalla, Ph.D.
2nd  Alisha Epps, Ph.D.
3rd   Luke Parkitny, Ph.D.
Session 6
1st   Davide Botta, Ph.D.
2nd  Hope M. Amm, Ph.D.
3rd   Joo Hyoung Lee, Ph.D.
Neuroscience Café: Multiple Sclerosis with Tara DeSilva, Ph.D.

Homewood Library - Thursday, February 26, at 6:30 p.m. in the Large Auditorium

Multiple sclerosis (MS) is a disease in which your immune system attacks the protective sheath (myelin) that covers your nerves. Myelin damage disrupts communication between your brain and the rest of your body. Signs and symptoms vary widely, depending on the amount of damage and which nerves are affected. Treatments can help speed recovery from attacks, modify the course of the disease and manage symptoms. Even though there is no cure for multiple sclerosis, treatment typically focuses on speeding recovery from attacks, slowing the progression of the disease and managing symptoms. Join us as Dr. DeSilva reports on the latest treatments.
Blueprint for success....
April 9-10, 2015
Registration is required to attend:
Epigenetics and Neuroplasticity - Evidence and Debate, 1st Edition is now available in print or eBook. Edited by Drs. Farah Lubin and Schahram Akbarian, the book covers topics on the entire lifespan of the brain, from transgenerational epigenetics to neurodevelopmental disease to disorders of the aging brain. All chapters are written with dual intent, to provide the reader with a timely update on the field, and a discussion of provocative or controversial findings in the field with the potential of great impact for future developments in the field. For more information go to: