Neurobiology News

The Rett Syndrome Foundation has awarded Dr. Xin Xu a 2 year postdoctoral fellowship. Dr. Xu won the award with her proposal titled “Molecular Mechanisms of Homeostatic Synaptic Plasticity in Mecp2 KO Neurons.”  

Dr. Xu is a post doc in the lab of Lucas Pozzo-Miller, a professor in the Department of Neurobiology.

For more information about Rett Syndrome visit their website at

The UAB Research Civitan Club and the Department of Neurobiology collected toys and food to be used for a family in need during this very special season.  Attached is a small sampling of goods received.  Good job!!!!

Nicotinic Receptors is now available in print or eBook. Edited by Dr. Robin Lester, the book is a comprehensive overview of nicotinic receptors that addresses their history from crystal structure to behavior as well as their implications in disease and potential as therapeutic targets.
For more information go to:

McKnight Brain Research Foundation Poster Reception
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Sunday, November 16, 2014
6:30 - 8:30 p.m.

Go to Abstracts to see topics being presented by representatives from the University of Alabama at Birmingham, the University of Arizona, the University of Florida, and the University of Miami.  

McKnight Logo


The Pitt Hopkins Research Foundation announced that after competitive review they are granting Dr. Andrew Kennedy funds to further his research into Pitt-Hopkins Syndrome. Dr. Kennedy’s grant was one of the highest reviewed and the scientific advisory board voted unanimously to continue funding his work.

Join us in congratulating Andrew!

For more information on Pitt Hopkins, visit their website:

"Advances in cardiovascular disease"
Presented By
Suzanne Oparil, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Director, Vascular Biology and Hypertension Program

Tuesday, November 4, 2014
6:00 p.m.

Sponsored by Research Civitan Club

The British Medical Association Book Awards take place annually to recognize outstanding contributions to medical literature. First prize in Neurology, non-surgical aspects, has been awarded to Epigenetic Regulation in the Nervous System: Basic Mechanisms and Clinical Impact
J. David Sweatt, Michael J. Meaney, Eric J. Nestler and Schahram Akbarian—Elsevier/Academic Press, 2013 ISBN: 9780123914941 £91

Fall 2014