UABCEHC log0 web

by Bob Shepard

The University of Alabama at Birmingham Callahan Eye Hospital Clinic has opened two new satellite locations in the Greater Birmingham area, one at Medical West in Bessemer and the other on the Birmingham St. Vincent’s Hospital campus off the Red Mountain Expressway.

“The new satellite clinics provide patients access to the high-quality care and state-of-the-art treatments UAB is known for within the convenience of their local communities,” said Christopher Girkin, M.D., professor and chair of the UAB Department of Ophthalmology.

The UAB Callahan Eye Hospital Clinic at Medical West is at 985 Ninth Ave. SW, Suite 310, in Bessemer. UAB ophthalmologists at the clinic include Rita Armitage, M.D., Lindsay Rhodes, M.D., and Jason C. Swanner, M.D. Patients can make appointments at 205-481-7870 or The clinic will provide comprehensive care for a variety of ocular conditions, including cataracts, dry eyes, diabetic retinopathy and glaucoma, as well as provide eye and vision exams.

The UAB Callahan Eye Hospital Clinic on the Birmingham St. Vincent’s campus is located at 2660 10th Ave. South, POB 1, Suite 222, in Birmingham. Physicians include Priscilla Fowler, M.D., Virginia R. Lolley, M.D., and Sara Mullins, M.D. For appointments, call 205-383-1003 or go to This clinic will provide comprehensive care for cataracts, diabetic retinopathy, glaucoma and cornea conditions, as well as provide contact lens service.

“The new satellite clinics will deliver the same outstanding vision care we have always provided at the Callahan Eye Hospital for the past 50 years on UAB’s campus,” said Brian Spraberry, CEO of Callahan Eye Hospital. “Offering access to full-time UAB physicians should help to provide the best possible patient experience in locations closer to home.”

40 faculty + 15 residents + 5 fellows
All subspecialties of ophthalmology
Dedicated to basic and clinical research

Physician Faculty

Contact Lens




Low Vision


Pediatric Ophthalmology


Uveitis/Ocular Inflammatory Disease

Research Faculty

Secondary Faculty

  • G. M. Anantharamaiah, Ph.D.
  • Karlene Ball, Ph.D.
  • Joel Berry, Ph.D.
  • Virginia Wadley Bradley, Ph.D.
  • John Johnstone, Ph.D.
  • Natalia Kedishvili, Ph.D.
  • Kelly Nichols, O.D., M.P.H., Ph.D., FAAO
  • Joanne Murphy-Ulrich, Ph.D.
  • Steven Pittler, Ph.D.
  • Kenneth Sloan, Ph.D.
  • Michael Twa, O.D., Ph.D.
  • Kristina Visscher, Ph.D.
  • Mary Warren, Ph.D.
  • Yong Zhou, Ph.D.

Clinical Faculty

  • Kristin C. Bains, M.D.
  • Michael A. Callahan, M.D.
  • Britton Carter, M.D.
  • William Cox
  • Susan Eiland, M.D.
  • Frederick J. Elsas, M.D.
  • Tyler Hall, M.D.
  • Christopher Kelly, M.D
  • Stephen Kelly, M.D.
  • James Kimble, M.D.
  • Ferenc Kuhn, M.D.
  • Elmar Lawaczeck, M.D.
  • John Alva Long, M.D.
  • Michael Massey, M.D.
  • Nancy Medeiros, M.D.
  • Thomas H. Metz, M.D.
  • Marc Michelson, M.D
  • John Morgan, M.D.
  • Robert E. Morris, M.D.
  • John Owen, M.D.
  • Roswell Pfister, M.D
  • Matthew Sapp, M.D.
  • Wayne Taylor, M.D.
  • Matthew G. Vicinanzo, M.D.