symposium web1The UAB Department of Ophthalmology held an extremely successful 2017 Annual Clinical and Research Symposium at the Westin in Birmingham during May 19-20, with nearly 100 attendees. This was the 18th year of the symposium and included resident, faculty, and featured lectures on dry eye and ocular surface disorders, as well as uveitis and retina.

The Alumni Sponsored Lecturer was Steven Yeh, M.D., the Louise M. Simpson Professor in Ophthalmology at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia. He also holds appointments at the Emory Global Health Institute as a faculty fellow and Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta as an associate professor of pediatrics. Dr. Yeh gave two lectures titled “Don’t Miss Diagnoses in Uveitis,” and “Ebola, Zika, and Emerging Infectious Disease of the Eye.”

symposium web 2Steven Plugfelder, M.D., the James and Margaret Elkins Chair in Ophthalmology at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas, served as the 2017 Helen Keller Lecturer. Plugfelder specializes in cornea, ocular surface, and tear disorders. His research interests include pathogenesis of desiccation-induced inflammation and autoimmunity on the ocular surface. His lecture presentations were titled “Advances in Diagnosis and Therapy of Tear Dysfunction,” and “Protecting Corneas at Risk.”

First-year residents completed poster presentations, while second and third-year residents presented talks on a variety of topics. The Lyn McMahan Awards, presented to one resident from each class and voted on by symposium attendees, were awarded to:

  • First-Year Winner: Bernard Dib, M.D., for his poster, “Complete and Early Vitrectomy for Cataract Postoperative Endophthalmitis”
  • Second-Year Winner: Peter Daniel, M.D., for his talk, “Outpatient Use of Topical Anesthetics”
  • Third-Year Winner: Austin Gerber, M.D., for his talk, “Comorbidities Associated with Congenital Nasolacrimal Duct Obstruction”

For more photos from the 2017 Annual and Clinical Research Symposium, please click here.