To learn more about our team members, visit their profiles below:


Rodney O. Tucker, MD, MMM
Associate Professor
Director, UAB Center for Palliative and Supportive Care
Chief Experience Officer, UAB Medicine

Elizabeth Byrd
Nurse Manager, UAB Palliative and Comfort Care Unit

Collaborating Physicians

Cindy Baker, MD
Assistant Professor
Med. Dir., Alacare Hospice

Michael Barnett, MD
Assistant Professor

Donna Bearden, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor

Cathy Casey, CRNP

John Holcombe, MD
Assistant Professor

Heather L. Herrington, MD
Associate Professor

Eddie Mathews, MD
UAB Hospitalist
Assistant Professor

Jessica S. Merlin, MD, MBA
Assistant Professor


 Eric Walker, PA-C, MBA


Ashley Nichols, MD
Assistant Professor
Med. Dir., UAB Palliative and Comfort Care Unit

Interdisciplinary Team Members

Amanda Baker, CRNP
Palliative Nurse Practitioner

Lynn Gray
Care Manager, Palliative Care

Stephen Howell, DNP, ANP-BC, ACHPN
Lead Nurse Practitioner

Kay Knowlton, PhD

Marcia Lowe
Hospital Unit Educator

Becky Miller, PharmD

Jackie Palmore, RN, BSN, CHPN
Care Coordinator, Palliative Care

Melvin Rodgers, II, D.Min, BCC, AAPC
Pastoral Care Liason