james meador woodruff webThe American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP) has elected James H. Meador-Woodruff, MD, Heman E. Drummond Professor and Chair of the UAB Department of Psychiatry to a three year term as a member of its Council starting in December 2014 . The ACNP was founded in 1961 and is the nation's premier professional society in brain, behavior, and psychopharmacology research.  The ACNP promotes communication among a broad range of scientific disciplines of brain and behavior in order to increase our understanding of the causes of disorders of the nervous system, and encourage new lines of research addressing the prevention and treatment of psychiatric, neurological, behavioral and addictive disorders. 

Brackett StephenHawkins AaronThe Department is pleased to announce that Dr. Stephen Brackett (pictured left) and Dr. Aaron Hawkins (pictured right) have been appointed as Chief Residents for the 2014 – 2015 academic year.

Dr. Hawkins is from Birmingham, Alabama. He received his Bachelor of Arts degree in Social Psychology from the University of Alabama at Birmingham and he received his medical degree from Ross University School of Medicine. His Psychiatry interests are in Addiction, Forensic and General Adult Psychiatry.

Dr. Brackett is from Gadsden, Alabama. He received his Bachelor of Science degree in Biology from Jacksonville State University and he received his medical degree from The University of Alabama School of Medicine. His Psychiatry interests are in Addiction, Consult, and General Adult Psychiatry.

Martin ClintonClinton Martin, M.D. joined the faculty of the Department of Psychiatry July 1, 2014. He received his MBBS from Siddhartha Medical College in India, and began his psychiatry residency training at St. Elizabeth’s Hospital in Washington, D.C. He came to UAB in 2011 and joined our Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Residency which he completed in the summer of 2013.   He distinguished himself as a trainee not only as an outstanding clinician, but has also been an enthusiastic teacher and has been an active participant from the beginning of our First Episode psychosis clinic. Much of his effort is providing clinical care in our expanded presence at the Children’s Hospital of Alabama and also has some time dedicated to building an outpatient practice of young adults with future plans of pursuing psychoanalytic training, and will continues to have some time in our First Episode Clinic.
Feldman-JacquelineDr. Jacqueline FeldmanMeador-Woodruff-JamesDr. James Meador-WoodruffJacqueline Feldman M.D., and James Meador-Woodruff, M.D., have earned the distinction of election as Distinguished Fellows of the American Psychiatric Association (APA).  Distinguished Fellow is the highest membership honor the APA bestows upon members and is awarded to outstanding psychiatrists who have made significant contributions to the psychiatric profession in at least five areas that include administration, teaching, scientific and scholarly publications, volunteering in

Meador-Woodruff-JamesJames Meador-Woodruff, M.D., Heman E. Drummond Professor and Chair, is the recipient of the Paul Hoch Distinguished Service Award which was presented to him this week at the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP) 2013 annual meeting.  This award is given periodically to a member of ACNP in recognition of exceptional service to the College.  He was selected for this award for his accomplishments as Editor-In-Chief of ACNP’s Journal, Neurophychopharmacology from 2006 – 2012.