yogesh dwivediThe Department is delighted to announce the recruitment of Dr. Yogesh Dwivedi to the Department of Psychiatry effective August 16, 2013. He will join the Departmental Mood Disorders Program as Director of Translational Neuroscience. He will be Professor of Psychiatry, and pending approval of the UA Board of Trustees will be the inaugural holder of the department’s Elesabeth Ridgely Shook Endowed Chair. Dr. Dwivedi earned his Bachelors and Masters degrees from the University of Allahabad and his Ph.D. From the Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow, India in biochemistry. He then served as a postdoctoral research fellow at the Illinois State Psychiatric Institute and the University of Illinois, Chicago (UIC), after which he entered the faculty of the Department of Psychiatry at UIC in 1994. Dr. Dwivedi rose through the ranks and became a Professor with tenure in the Departments of Psychiatry and Pharmacology at UIC in 2011.  Dr. Dwivedi is internationally recognized as an expert in the molecular biology of mood disorders and suicide. His current research examines the roles of neurotransmitter receptors, cytokines, neurotrophins, cellular signaling, and neural plasticity in depression and suicide risk using gene expression, RNA sequencing, microRNAs, and epigenetic approaches. 

CPM1 270x20312-266x200The Department is pleased to announce that Brendan Clark, Ph.D. will be joining the UAB Department of Psychiatry as an Assistant Professor in the Division of Behavioral Neurobiology in August 2013. Dr. Clark came to UAB in September of 2010 following the completion of his training at the University of Southern Mississippi.  He is a licensed clinical psychologist and completed his clinical internship at the VA Gulf Coast Veterans Health Care System in Biloxi, Mississippi.  Dr. Clark is currently in the process of completing a research fellowship with a focus on addiction. His primary focus will be the development of a new, extramurally-funded line of patient-based research in the Department with research interests in behavioral economics and cooperative behavior.

NimmagaddaWebThe Department is delighted to announce that Dr. Janaki Nimmagadda will join the faculty as an Assistant Professor in the Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry upon the completion of her UAB Fellowship in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry in June 2013.  Dr. Nimmagadda will focus much of her time as a faculty member at The Children's Hospital of Alabama as part of the Department's planned expansion of clinical and educational activities. Dr. Nimmagadda came to UAB in July 2011 following the completion of her general psychiatry residency at St. Elizabeth Hospital in Washington, D.C.  She presently serves as Chief Resident for the Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship.  Dr. Nimmagadda is also married to Dr. Clinton Martin, another Chief Resident for the Child and Adolescent Fellowship.

Recruitment-of-new-faculty-2013The Department of Psychiatry would like to announce the recruitment of four new faculty members: Drs. Cayce Paddock, Li Li, Ross Grimes, and Michelle Benjamin.  Drs. Paddock and Li will complete their residency training with us in June, and transition to the role of Assistant Professor. Dr. Grimes joined the Department in 2012 as a postdoctoral fellow, and now serves as the Clinical Director of the Department of Mental Health (DMH) Adolescent Inpatient Unit. Dr. Benjamin transitions to us from the Department of Neuropsychology as a postdoctoral fellowship with a focus on psychotherapy. It was also announced earlier this year that Drs. Taylor Preston and Nina Kraguljac have also agreed to join the Department upon completion of residency training in June 2013. Drs. Preston and Kraguljac have both served as Chief residents for the 2012-2013 academic year.

Meador-Woodruff-JamesDr. James Meador-Woodruff, Heman E. Drummond Professor and Chairman, has been named the recipient of the 2013 Research Mentorship Award of the American Psychiatric Association.  This award is presented annually to one academic psychiatrist who fosters the pursuit of trainee research within a university department.  Considerations for receiving this award include both direct mentorship of individual students and the promotion of novel research-oriented training activities within a department or residency training program. The American Psychiatric Association is the world’s largest psychiatric organization. It is a medical specialty society representing more than 33,000 psychiatric physicians from the United States and around the world.