Kerman-McCullumsmithDr. Robert McCullumsmith was recently elected to membership, and Dr. Illan Kerman was elected to associate membership at the annual meeting of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology. The American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP) is a non-profit, professional society solely dedicated to the advancement of brain disorders including scientific understanding, prevention, and improvements in treatments. 

CPM1 270x20312-266x200UAB Psychiatry is proud to announce that seven faculty members were named to the annual ‘Best Doctors’ list. The Best Doctors in America list includes the nation’s most respected specialists and primary care physicians. These are the doctors that other doctors recognize as the best in their fields. Choosing from thousands of the nation’s top physicians, seven psychiatrists within the Department were included in this latest edition of the Best Doctors in America. Among these were Drs. Lee Ascherman, Jacqueline Feldman, James Meador-Woodruff, Samuel Rubin, Ray Thweatt, F. Cleveland Kinney, and Richard Shelton.

AFSP-2012-TeamOhotoThe UAB Department of Psychiatry participated in the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP) Out of the Darkness Walk at Heardmont Park on November 4th, 2012. The Alabama Chapter of AFSP hosted several walks throughout the state this year with over $150,000 raised and more than 2,500 people participating.  UAB Psychiatry had a great team this year with faculty, staff, residents, and family members. We want to thank all of those that participated in the walk and encourage everyone in the Alabama community to join us next year.

send silence packing2UAB Department of Psychiatry participated in the Send Silence Packing event that came through Birmingham for the first time on October 29, 2012. This was the first Send Silence Packing event to come through the South, and is sponsored by the UAB Active Minds Chapter. 1,100 backpacks were laid out across the campus green, each backpack symbolizing a college-aged student who completes suicide each year. A.T. Helix is the founder and president of the UAB Active Minds Chapter. She is an undergraduate and researcher in the laboratory of Dr. James Meador-Woodruff, Heman E. Drummond Professor & Chairman for the UAB Department of Psychiatry.

Preston-TaylorUAB Psychiatry would like to announce the recruitment of Taylor Preston, M.D., as an Assistant Professor when he completes his residency training with us in June 2013.  Dr. Preston currently serves as one of our departmental Chief Residents, and is a life-long resident of Birmingham. Dr. Preston received his medical degree from the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Medicine and his undergraduate degree in Biology from Birmingham-Southern College.