2011 Resident Graduation Banquet and Awards Ceremony

The Department of Psychiatry held its annual Graduation Banquet and Awards Ceremony on the evening of Friday, June 17th at The Historic Cahaba Pumping Station Museum in Birmingham with dinner catered by The Fish Market. The event was one of the most well-attended in recent memory, with more than 100 people participating in the evening’s festivities. Dr. Laura Montgomery-Barefield, the department’s Residency Training Director, hosted the presentation of awards, the recipients of which are listed below.


Dr. Cheryl McCullumsmith featured on local news broadcasts

McCullumsmith-CherylDr. Cheryl McCullumsmith, Director for the Division of Consult Liaison Psychiatry, has been featured frequently on local news broadcasts discussing coping strategies and normal behavior after the tragedy of the April tornadoes. On Monday, May 9th she was the featured doctor on “Ask the Doctor”-a weekly news segment of the Fox 6 mid-day news. Dr. McCullumsmith answered questions from callers on when to seek mental health care after a stressful situation like the one caused by the tornadoes in April. Through her role as Director of Psychiatric Emergency Services at UAB, Dr. McCullumsmith played a pivotal role in the UAB Emergency Room hours after the tornadoes hit our area.


Kira Fonbah, M.D.

Fonbah-KiraKira Fonbah, M.D. is joining the faculty of the UAB Department of Psychiatry upon completion of her residency training this summer. She will join the department as an Assistant Professor in the Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, where she will be a great addition to our wonderful group of clinician-educators. Dr. Fonbah received both her undergraduate degree, in International Studies and French, and her medical degree from UAB. She subsequently completed her General Residency training within our department and is now finishing her Fellowship in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. Dr. Fonbah’s clinical responsibilities will be in outpatient services at both UAB and The Children’s Hospital of Alabama. She will be developing a specialty service with college age late adolescents and young adults. Please join us in welcoming Dr. Fonbah to the faculty.

Andrea Dickens, M.D. Joins UAB Psychiatry

Dickens-AndreaAndrea Dickens, M.D. is joining the UAB Department of Psychiatry as an assistant professor and Associate Training Director for the general psychiatry residency, upon the completion of her residency in June. Dr. Dickens completed her psychiatry residency with the UAB Department of Psychiatry where she has served as chief resident this past year.  She completed her undergraduate education in Biology from Arkansas Tech University and received her medical degree from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. Dr. Dickens will be joining the Consult Liaison Division and will focus on Emergency Psychiatry in the UAB Emergency Department. Please join us in welcoming Dr. Dickens to the faculty. She will be a great asset to the patients in the Emergency Department as well as to our department.

UAB Department of Psychiatry Fifth Annual Research Symposium

The UAB Department of Psychiatry held its Fifth Annual Research Symposium on April 12, 2011.  The event was a huge success!  54 posters were presented in the categories of Clinical Divisions, Faculty, Psychiatry Residents and Research Trainees. Winners from each category have been chosen and will be announced at the Graduation Banquet which will be held in June.