Drs. Tolulope Aduroja, James Meador-Woodruff, and Rita Patton were among six Birmingham area psychiatrists recently granted the status of Fellow by the American Psychiatric Association (APA).  The physicians receiving this honorary designation were recognized for their expertise, achievements, and dedication to the profession of psychiatry.  Drs. Aduroja, Meador-Woodruff, and Patton will be formally recognized during a ceremony at the APA’s 165th Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, PA in May 2012.

Clinton-SarahSarah Clinton, Ph.D., Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychiatry, Division of Behavioral Neurobiology, was elected as an Associate Member of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP) at the annual meeting of this prestigious organization. Membership selection in the ACNP is a highly competitive process, and this most recent cycle was the most competitive in many years. To be elected into membership at this stage in Dr. Clinton’s career is a substantial accomplishment.

The ACNP is a non-profit, professional society dedicated to advancing the scientific understanding of and facilitating communication about disorders of the brain and behavior in order to advance their prevention and treatment.

Rubio-LolyLoly Rubio, M.D., Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow in the UAB Department of Psychiatry, Division of Behavioral Neurobiology, received this year's Anuradha Rao Memorial SFN travel award. Loly was chosen from a large number of excellent national and international applicants. The award of $1,000 is given annually to a graduate student or post-doc to cover expenses for travel to the 2011 Society for Neuroscience meeting which will be held in Washington, D.C. where the award will be presented. Congratulations to Dr. Rubio for being chosen as the recipient of this prestigious award.

Rita-Cowell-AwardRita Cowell, Ph.D., Assistant Professor in the UAB Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurobiology, received the coveted McNulty Scientist Award from Civitan International during the annual Civitan Board reception hosted by Dr. Harald Sontheimer and the Civitan International Research Center on October 20th, 2011.

Dr. Cowell’s research focuses on how environmental stimuli can influence genetics to cause abnormal brain development resulting in disorders such as autism. Her studies are aimed at understanding how changes in gene expression during development contribute to the progression of neurodevelopmental disorders.

composite-J-R-300x220Drs. James Meador-Woodruff and Robert McCullumsmith have received 2 new NIH grants totaling $3.9 million to study the causes of schizophrenia and to develop new targets for treating the illness. These studies involve cutting edge methodologies, including laser capture micro dissection and advanced proteomics techniques, permitting the investigators to ask and answer the largest possible questions related to the causes of schizophrenia. With these techniques, Drs. Meador-Woodruff and McCullumsmith will probe for abnormalities of glutamate neurotransmission in the frontal cortex region of brains from deceased subjects with schizophrenia. Some of the tissues for these studies will be provided by the Alabama Brain Collection (ABC), which is managed by Dr. Rosalinda Roberts, who is also on the faculty in the Department of Psychiatry.